top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 123122 God is Calling


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 31, 2022


Read 1 Samuel 30:1-6


1 Three days later, David and his soldiers reached Ziklag. The Amalekites had raided the arid southern plain and Ziklag. They had attacked Ziklag and burned it down, 2 taking the women and everyone in the city prisoner, whether young or old. They hadn’t killed anyone but carried them off and went on their way. 3 When David and his soldiers got to the town and found it burned down, and their wives, their sons, and their daughters were taken prisoner, 4 David and the troops with him broke into tears and cried until they could cry no more. 5 David’s two wives had been captured as well: Ahinoam from Jezreel and Abigail, Nabal’s widow from Carmel. 6 David was in deep trouble because the troops were talking about stoning him. Each of the soldiers was deeply distressed about their sons and daughters. But David found strength in the LORD his God.

Good Morning, In all things, give thanks!


As I sit and reflect this morning on this past year, I am reminded of the many ways that God has redirected my life. On December 31, 2021, I was a full-time teacher who was still deciding whether or not I should retire. I was serving South Fluvanna Charge as a part-time pastor. I was experiencing many firsts in my life. I had procured my first place to live on my own: a lovely townhouse in Charlottesville and I had purchased my first car by myself. There have been so my firsts. It truly makes my head spin.

I felt that God was calling me to become a full-time pastor which I knew meant that many changes would be on the horizon. Making the decision to accept my calling produced many unknowns. Where would God send me? I spent many early mornings sharing my fears of uncertainty with God. December 31, 2021, now looks like a distant memory because so much has changed. I could not have imagined the countless blessings or the challenges that I would encounter in such a short span of time.

I know that God was with me through every challenge and blessing and that only by God’s strength did I endure. Even when we are struggling with our fears and worries, God promises to be with us. Oh God, I am thy servant. Thank you for blessing me beyond measure. Each time I am unsettled by doubts, I remember Jeremiah 29:11 "For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."

As we prepare to enter a new year, I pray that we can embrace God’s plans for each of our lives. I will close out the year with my mantra for 2022 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 tells us three areas where we can know God's will: "Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you."


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. May we hear you when you call to us! Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: I will face adversity with faith and perseverance, trusting that God will help me through.


Go where you are called! Pastor Liz


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 043024 A Special Call

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 30, 2024 Psalm 100:1-5 1 Shout triumphantly to the LORD, all the earth! 2 Serve the LORD with celebration! Come before him with shout

Morning Devotional 042924 The Ultimate Sacrifice

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 29, 2024 Luke 13:31-35 31 At that time, some Pharisees approached Jesus and said, “Go! Get away from here, because Herod wants to kil

Morning Devotional 042824 Get Up! Try Again!

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 28, 2024 Romans 2:1-11 1 So every single one of you who judge others is without any excuse. You condemn yourself when you judge anoth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page