top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 043024 A Special Call


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  April 30, 2024

Psalm 100:1-5

1 Shout triumphantly to the LORD, all the earth! 2 Serve the LORD with celebration! Come before him with shouts of joy! 3 Know that the LORD is God he made us; we belong to him. We are his people, the sheep of his own pasture. 4 Enter his gates with thanks; enter his courtyards with praise! Thank him! Bless his name! 5 Because the LORD is good, his loyal love lasts forever; his faithfulness lasts generation after generation.


Good Morning! Our God is an Awesome God!


On this last day of April 2024, I am sharing my trials of a long month with God. Losing our loved ones is very hard. When this month began, we had just celebrated Easter, and I was filled with the joy of knowing that my redeemer lives. I did not know what unexpected challenges the month would bring. 


I was honored to officiate the services of two family members: my uncle, Johnny Cooksey, and my brother-in-law, Roy Blessinger. Both of them were loving and kind men who positively affected the lives of many people during their earthly walk. As Christians, we know that the end of our earthly journey is our transition into a new life, a life with Christ, but it is still hard for those of us who have not transitioned yet.


As I sit and reflect upon the services and the family gatherings, I know that I am blessed beyond measure. I got to spend time with family members from both sides of my family as we laughed, cried, shared memories, and hugged one another. 


The officiant of the service is granted a special place within this divine liminal space. In a way, we are the hosts of a special earthly event, but we are also the one who leads the procession of our loved ones to Christ. We walk side by side until they move ahead of us into their new space with Christ. We say our goodbyes and say see you later. 


Today, as I lift a special prayer to Johnny and Roy, let’s remember all who have gone before us and joined their Creator. No more weary days await those who join their Lord. 


Some glad morning when this life is o'er, I'll fly away;  

To a home on God's celestial shore, I'll fly away (I'll fly away). 


When the shadows of this life have gone, I'll fly away; Like a bird from prison bars has flown, I'll fly away (I'll fly away) 


Just a few more weary days and then, I'll fly away; To a land where joy shall never end, I'll fly away (I'll fly away)


Chorus I'll fly away, Oh Glory  I'll fly away; (in the morning) When I die, Hallelujah, by and by, I'll fly away (I'll fly away).


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We are sad when our loved ones leave us, but we are blessed to know they are with you and we will be joined together again. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: May our hearts sing as we send our loved ones to Christ!


When we all see Jesus, we’ll sing and shout the victory! Pastor Liz


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page