top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 042924 The Ultimate Sacrifice


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  April 29, 2024

Luke 13:31-35

31 At that time, some Pharisees approached Jesus and said, “Go! Get away from here, because Herod wants to kill you.” 32 Jesus said to them, “Go, tell that fox, ‘Look, I’m throwing out demons and healing people today and tomorrow, and on the third day I will complete my work. 33 However, it’s necessary for me to travel today, tomorrow, and the next day because it’s impossible for a prophet to be killed outside of Jerusalem.’ 34 “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those who were sent to you! How often I have wanted to gather your people just as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings. But you didn’t want that. 35 Look, your house is abandoned. I tell you, you won’t see me until the time comes when you say, Blessings on the one who comes in the Lord’s name.”


Good Morning! Blessings to Jesus, our protector!


From the beginning, Jesus knew his ultimate destination and what he must do when he arrived. Imagine being warned to stay away because your life is in danger, but continuing on your journey anyway. Jesus remained true to his course because he must die to accomplish his calling: to bring all who believe in Him eternal life. He knew for us to live, he must die. 


As I sit in my morning conversation with God, I see our first responders who pledge their lives to save others from danger. Those who charge into a dangerous situation to save an innocent child know the risks they take. When they lose their life in such a quest, they make the ultimate sacrifice so that someone else might live. 


Jesus charged into Jerusalem knowing that he would be made to suffer and die. He could have turned away, avoided going there, and perhaps lived a long life blessing, healing, and saving people along the way. Our need was so much greater than that. Evil was running rampant and saving the world one soul at a time was not enough. God sent Jesus to save the world with one ultimate sacrifice: Jesus must die so that we might be free. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. How can we ever thank you enough? Continue teaching us so that we might be the face of Christ for others. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Give of yourself to show the world the way to Christ


Praise God from whom all blessings flow! Pastor Liz


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page