top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 123022 Peace is Available


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 30, 2022


Read Psalm 3:1-8


1 LORD, I have so many enemies! So many are standing against me. 2 So many are talking about me: “Even God won’t help him.” Selah 3 But you, LORD, are my shield! You are my glory! You are the one who restores me. 4 I cry out loud to the LORD, and he answers me from his holy mountain. Selah 5 I lie down, sleep, and wake up because the LORD helps me. 6 I won’t be afraid of thousands of people surrounding me on all sides. 7 Stand up, LORD! Save me, my God! In fact, hit all my enemies on the jaw; shatter the teeth of the wicked! 8 Rescue comes from the LORD! May your blessing be on your people! Selah

Good Morning, God restores our souls.


David is taking time to thank God for protecting him in his time of need. David goes to the holy mountain in his times of greatest trouble. When he is there, he feels surrounded by the shield of God. David proclaims that God is his shield, his glory, and the one who restores him.


In verse 5, David speaks of rest and peace as he lies down, sleeps, and awakens. We have all experienced those sleepless nights when anxiety fills our very being. If David is able to sleep, then he has found true comfort with God and believes that God will be with him no matter what troubles he faces. Even when his troubles expand around him, God will be with him.


For us, the Good News is that God is with us too. Emmanuel means God with us. David went to the holy mountain to find comfort with God. Where can we go for such comfort? We can join together in worship with the body of believers, we can pray, and we can spend time reading Scripture.


For all who believe, the kingdom of God is within us. We are one with our creator, God. We are saved by our redeemer, Christ. We are transformed into our true selves, the Holy Spirit. Praise be to God.


Paul explains that our current sufferings pale in comparison to the coming glory. The Spirit will be with us to help us, and God works all things for good. The Christian is destined to be conformed to the image of the Son – called, justified, and glorified. “What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:29-31).

Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. You are our shield and defender. Praise be to God. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Worship can move me from worry to peace.


Find your place of peace with God! Pastor Liz


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 042924 The Ultimate Sacrifice

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 29, 2024 Luke 13:31-35 31 At that time, some Pharisees approached Jesus and said, “Go! Get away from here, because Herod wants to kil

Morning Devotional 042824 Get Up! Try Again!

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 28, 2024 Romans 2:1-11 1 So every single one of you who judge others is without any excuse. You condemn yourself when you judge anoth

Morning Devotional 042724 As Long As We Have Breath

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 27, 2024 Psalm 71:7-18 7 I’ve become an example to many people because you are my strong refuge. 8 My mouth is filled with your prais

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page