top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 011423 Wrapped in Love


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 14, 2023


Read Psalm 13:1-6

1 How long will you forget me, LORD? Forever? How long will you hide your face from me? 2 How long will I be left to my own wits, agony filling my heart? Daily? How long will my enemy keep defeating me? 3 Look at me! Answer me, LORD my God! Restore sight to my eyes! Otherwise, I’ll sleep the sleep of death, 4 and my enemy will say, “I won!” My foes will rejoice over my downfall. 5 But I have trusted in your faithful love. My heart will rejoice in your salvation. 6 Yes, I will sing to the LORD because he has been good to me.

Good Morning, O the Lord’s been good to me, and so I trust the Lord.


Through Christ, God has made a new covenant with those who believe. God promises to be with us always. Many years ago, I participated in our high school theater group. I was selected for a variety of roles in the plays we presented. I enjoyed being on the stage performing as my character. I had a friend who also joined our group, but she had no desire to be on stage. She had many gifts to share with the group. She was a creative seamstress and could design and paint sets. Even though her face was never seen by the crowd, she was an invaluable part of our production. Each set and each costume was a reflection of the time and talent that she shared with the group. Without her efforts, our productions would have not been the same.


God is constantly working in our lives even when we don’t always see the direct evidence that we seek. When we are unsure of God’s presence, all we have to do is look at the beauty of nature that surrounds us. God is busy painting the sunrises and sunsets. God is also providing all that we need to live a faithful life. We must allow the Holy Spirit to clothe us in God’s love, mercy, joy, and grace so that we can share these precious gifts with the world. We don’t have to see the face of God to see the work of God. Yes, I will sing to the Lord because he has been good to me.


Paul teaches us in 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 the three areas where we can know God's will: "Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you."


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. Open our eyes, Lord, so that we may see You surrounding us with love. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Even when I can’t see it, God is at work.


Wrap yourself with God’s garments of love! Pastor Liz


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 043024 A Special Call

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 30, 2024 Psalm 100:1-5 1 Shout triumphantly to the LORD, all the earth! 2 Serve the LORD with celebration! Come before him with shout

Morning Devotional 042924 The Ultimate Sacrifice

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 29, 2024 Luke 13:31-35 31 At that time, some Pharisees approached Jesus and said, “Go! Get away from here, because Herod wants to kil

Morning Devotional 042824 Get Up! Try Again!

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 28, 2024 Romans 2:1-11 1 So every single one of you who judge others is without any excuse. You condemn yourself when you judge anoth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page