top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 010223 In Progress


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 2, 2023


Read Psalm 34:1-7


1 I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise will always be in my mouth. 2 I praise the LORD let the suffering listen and rejoice. 3 Magnify the LORD with me! Together let us lift his name up high! 4 I sought the LORD and he answered me. He delivered me from all my fears. 5 Those who look to God will shine; their faces are never ashamed. 6 This suffering person cried out: the LORD listened and saved him from every trouble. 7 On every side, the LORD’s messenger protects those who honor God; and he delivers them.


Good Morning, This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it!


Yesterday, we had a gorgeous day and it was a wonderful way to usher in the new year. As I consider verse 5, I am remembering a song that I used to teach to my youth choir: “God’s Not Finished With Me Yet”. In this song, we would explore and realize that we are a work in progress and that sometimes we have rough edges and we make poor choices. We are the work of God, our creator, and God doesn’t make junk.


No matter how far we stray and how broken we become God is waiting to complete his work and mold us into perfection. Philippians 1:6 offers us comfort in our times of reflection. 6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (NIV)


Our God is a gracious God and each Christmas Eve we are given the opportunity to be reborn with Christ, to allow the Holy Spirit to continue reshaping and remolding us so that we can start our lives anew as children of God.


On the day of Jesus’ return, we will look into our mirrors and see the one that God created within us, free of blemishes and cracks. For now, we must open ourselves to transformation, and when we look into our mirror try to see past our faults and into the glory that awaits us.


If you don't like the way I am, don't judge me yet just hang around

God's not finished with me yet

Now I'm not what I used to be, there's still work to do in me

God's not finished with me yet



Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. We are your works in progress and only you, our Creator, can see the vision of the finished work. Thank you for seeing the beauty and possibilities that lie within us. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: I can find comfort in God when I honestly share my feelings.


Look past the surface! Pastor Liz


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 043024 A Special Call

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 30, 2024 Psalm 100:1-5 1 Shout triumphantly to the LORD, all the earth! 2 Serve the LORD with celebration! Come before him with shout

Morning Devotional 042924 The Ultimate Sacrifice

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 29, 2024 Luke 13:31-35 31 At that time, some Pharisees approached Jesus and said, “Go! Get away from here, because Herod wants to kil

Morning Devotional 042824 Get Up! Try Again!

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 28, 2024 Romans 2:1-11 1 So every single one of you who judge others is without any excuse. You condemn yourself when you judge anoth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page