top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 020324 Out of the Depths, We are Saved


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  February 3, 2024


Psalm 56:1-13

1 God, have mercy on me because I’m being trampled. All day long the enemy oppresses me. 2 My attackers trample me all day long because I have so many enemies. Exalted one, 3 whenever I’m afraid, I put my trust in you 4 in God, whose word I praise. I trust in God; I won’t be afraid. What can mere flesh do to me? 5 All day long they frustrate my pursuits; all their thoughts are evil against me. 6 They get together and set an ambush they are watching my steps, hoping for my death. 7 Don’t rescue them for any reason! In wrath bring down the people, God! 8 You yourself have kept track of my misery. Put my tears into your bottle aren’t they on your scroll already? 9 Then my enemies will retreat when I cry out. I know this because God is mine. 10 God: whose word I praise. The LORD: whose word I praise. 11 I trust in God; I won’t be afraid. What can anyone do to me? 12 I will fulfill my promises to you, God. I will present thanksgiving offerings to you 13 because you have saved my life from death, saved my feet from stumbling so that I can walk before God in the light of life.


Good Morning! Praise God, who is always by our side!


The word trampled in this translation is very useful as I read this passage. I see fields being trampled as the enemy approaches. I see the outcasts and sick being trampled as people work their way to the top. I see myself being trampled by the ever-growing secular movement. 


The number of people who don’t believe in God grows daily. When you add to this number the people who have never been introduced to God, the number is staggering. Most of us grew up in Christian homes and communities where our faith was taken for granted. We weren’t scared to talk about God because everyone shared a basic common belief. 


The early Christians, our ancestors, lived a different story. It is a story where Christians were persecuted, jailed, and even killed for their faith. By the grace of God, they led a movement that brought Christianity to the world. We have lost much of their momentum, but it is possible to regain our footing in the world. 


We must walk like Christ every day. We are called to go and make disciples of all the earth. God will lift us from the mud in which we are being trampled. All we have to do is accept and use the power of the Holy Spirit within us. It is time to stoke the fire and proclaim the Good News to all. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. When we feel trampled, you lift us up. We praise your Holy Name. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: God restores us!


Proclaim the Good News! Pastor Liz


15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 050724 Peace Awaits

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 7, 2024 Lamentations 3:22-24 22 Certainly the faithful love of the LORD hasn’t ended; certainly God’s compassion isn’t through! 23 They

Morning Devotional 050624 The Best Things Take Time

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 6, 2024 2 Peter 3:14-18 14 Therefore, dear friends, while you are waiting for these things to happen, make every effort to be found by

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page