top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 050724 Peace Awaits


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  May 7, 2024

Lamentations 3:22-24

22 Certainly the faithful love of the LORD hasn’t ended; certainly God’s compassion isn’t through! 23 They are renewed every morning. Great is your faithfulness. 24 I think: The LORD is my portion! Therefore, I’ll wait for him.


Good Morning! Each day is a new day!


Each morning, we awaken to a new day: a day of unexpected possibilities to serve God. 

Rest and sleep restore not only our physical but also our spiritual strength. In the Gospels, we are told of countless times when Jesus would go away to pray and rest away from the crowds. 


To love one another, as Christ loves us takes energy. When we grow weary of fighting the good fight, we must rest and spend time with God. The Holy Spirit within us is our source of power upon which we draw. 


I have been known to burn the candle at both ends as I try to be everything to my friends and family. Eventually, I reach a time when God reminds me to slow down and rest. As I divorce my thoughts and emotions from the chaos that I have created, God fills the void and, in the calmness, gives me peace. 


God gives us each a portion of love and grace from which we love one another. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We try to love as we are commanded, but sometimes, we make a mess of things. Thank you for listening and guiding us back to the light. We need your peace. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: We can trust God’s guidance in every situation.


May the peace of Christ be with you! Pastor Liz


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page