top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 122622 Rejoice in God's Gifts


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 26, 2022


Read Matthew 25:14-30


14 “The kingdom of heaven is like a man who was leaving on a trip. He called his servants and handed his possessions over to them. 15 To one he gave five valuable coins, and to another, he gave two, and to another, he gave one. He gave to each servant according to that servant’s ability. Then he left on his journey. 16 “After the man left, the servant who had five valuable coins took them and went to work doing business with them. He gained five more. 17 In the same way, the one who had two valuable coins gained two more. 18 But the servant who had received the one valuable coin dug a hole in the ground and buried his master’s money. 19 “Now after a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them. 20 The one who had received five valuable coins came forward with five additional coins. He said, ‘Master, you gave me five valuable coins. Look, I’ve gained five more.’ 21 “His master replied, ‘Excellent! You are a good and faithful servant! You’ve been faithful over a little. I’ll put you in charge of much. Come, celebrate with me.’ 22 “The second servant also came forward and said, ‘Master, you gave me two valuable coins. Look, I’ve gained two more.’ 23 “His master replied, ‘Well done! You are a good and faithful servant. You’ve been faithful over a little. I’ll put you in charge of much. Come, celebrate with me.’ 24 “Now the one who had received one valuable coin came and said, ‘Master, I knew that you are a hard man. You harvest grain where you haven’t sown. You gather crops where you haven’t spread seed. 25 So I was afraid. And I hid my valuable coin in the ground. Here, you have what’s yours.’ 26 “His master replied, ‘You evil and lazy servant! You knew that I harvest grain where I haven’t sown and that I gather crops where I haven’t spread seed? 27 In that case, you should have turned my money over to the bankers so that when I returned, you could give me what belonged to me with interest. 28 Therefore, take from him the valuable coin and give it to the one who has ten coins. 29 Those who have much will receive more, and they will have more than they need. But as for those who don’t have much, even the little bit they have will be taken away from them. 30 Now take the worthless servant and throw him outside into the darkness.’ “People there will be weeping and grinding their teeth.

Good Morning, Rejoice, again I say Rejoice!


The morning after Christmas is an interesting time. Some families are still gathered together while others are back in their own homes. Some see the daunting task of putting away all of the decorations, while others take time to revel in the celebration and bask in the glow of the lights just a little longer. I pray that this is a time of rest and reflection. God grants us grace in all things. It is up to us to give ourselves the grace to slow down even for a moment and consider the awe and wonder that Christmas provides.


Each year of our lives brings us new blessings and new challenges. This is the last time that we will experience Christmas 2022. God has a plan for each of which we can only see glimpses. Next year, as we approach this time we will be different people who approach the manger in a new way. For those who choose to accept the gifts that God gives, we can set out on our renewed journey of faith.


God blesses each of us with different gifts. All of our gifts from God are gifts to share with others. Each of us begins with hope, peace, joy, and love. God blesses us with the vehicle through which we can share these gifts: healer, listener, nurturer, provider, teacher, leader . . . Our gifts are as unique as the fingerprints with which we are born. We must first accept and recognize our gifts as blessings, and then allow the Holy Spirit to lead us in the sharing of these gifts. Our God is an Awesome God!


God grants each of us a special way to serve him! Let your light shine for all to see!


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. You bless us with so many gifts. Help us to use these gifts to serve you so that others may find their way. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Serving God connects me more deeply to my faith.


Hallelujah! Pastor Liz


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Morning Devotional 051424 God is Our Refuge

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 14, 2024 Psalm 46:1-7 1 God is our refuge and strength, a help always near in times of great trouble. 2 That’s why we won’t be afraid w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page