top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 122022 Take Time for the Baby


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 20, 2022


Read Luke 10:38-42


38 While Jesus and his disciples were traveling, Jesus entered a village where a woman named Martha welcomed him as a guest. 39 She had a sister named Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his message. 40 By contrast, Martha was preoccupied with getting everything ready for their meal. So Martha came to him and said, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to prepare the table all by myself? Tell her to help me.” 41 The Lord answered, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and distracted by many things. 42 One thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the better part. It won’t be taken away from her.”

Good Morning, For behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy!


Thank you, God, for the great role models that you place in our lives. Mary was a bit before her time when she chose to sit and learn as Jesus taught. She was expected to help her sister prepare and take care of the needs of those in attendance. Martha was frustrated that Mary left her to do all of the work. While Martha fumed, Mary was blessed.


In our own lives, do we simply fall into rank and do what is expected of us, or do we take the chance to step outside the box and take a risk to be a part of something greater than ourselves? More than 2000 years later, we have advocates who promote the idea of self-care.


For many, it is a challenge to set aside time to refuel ourselves physically, mentally, or spiritually. We feel the expectations of others (family, co-workers, bosses . . .) to hunker down and keep moving forward at all costs. Many, especially women, do everything that others expect of them. I remember my years of trying to be the super “women”: mother, homemaker, cook, cleaner, breadwinner, soccer mom . . . Honestly, there was little time to listen and learn so that I might be blessed.


I certainly received so many blessings for all that I did for others, but there is a time when we must set aside time to rest and be spiritually renewed. I am empowered when I read how Jesus would take time and separate himself from others when he needed to rest, pray, and receive nourishment from God. Our time of renewal allows us to hone our faith so that we can share and nurture others as we continue our journeys to glory. And the glory, the glory of the Lord shone round about them.


In this hectic time of the year, we are called to take time and prepare for the arrival of Jesus. This is a time for us to receive blessings, to be reborn and renewed as we take time to sit by the manger so that we might learn. Some years we simply need to be reminded of all that God gives us. In other years (challenging and desolate years) we need a jump-start so that we can find our way back to what is promised.


The voice of one crying in the wilderness is still calling us today. The time is near. Prepare ye the way of the Lord.


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. May we take time to be blessed. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Because of my faith, I can do great works and inspire the faith of others.


Take time for the baby! Pastor Liz


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page