top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 121622 Oh no! not the "P" word!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 16, 2022


Read 1 Thessalonians 5:9-15


9 God didn’t intend for us to suffer his wrath but rather to possess salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. 10 Jesus died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we will live together with him. 11 So continue encouraging each other and building each other up, just like you are doing already. 12 Brothers and sisters, we ask you to respect those who are working with you, leading you, and instructing you. 13 Think of them highly with love because of their work. Live in peace with each other. 14 Brothers and sisters, we urge you to warn those who are disorderly. Comfort the discouraged. Help the weak. Be patient with everyone. 15 Make sure no one repays a wrong with a wrong, but always pursue the good for each other and everyone else.

Good Morning, Be patient with everyone!


I chuckle when silly things enter my mind in the process of typing. Thoughts that you totally forgot about. I started to type well at the beginning of my sentence, and I remembered a friend who always would reply, “that’s a deep subject.” Glimpses of the past seep out from time to time and comfort us as we remember simpler times.


As I read our passage this morning, I was casually checking the boxes as I read Paul’s “to-do” list. When I reached the be patient with everyone, I had to pause. This one can be so challenging. Even when we know that the one with whom we become impatient is doing the best they can, we struggle to accept who they are and where they are at that moment.


I had a saintly friend who always said that we should never pray for patience because God would bless us with many opportunities to practice. I have realized that my own patience fluctuates depending on the time and place. I am much more patient with children than I am with adults. I suppose it is easier to understand that the child is still practicing and is prone to making mistakes. We are not always so generous when we are dealing with adults who frustrate us.


Fortunately, our God is a gracious God who has unending patience with our mistakes and inability to stay focused. Through Christ, who died for our sins, we are forgiven. Even when we turn our backs on God and walk away, we are welcome back. God awaits our return like the father of the prodigal son and welcomes us with open arms. God patiently waits for us to learn that we cannot be in control of everything. We must turn over our lives to God and we will find the hope, peace, joy, and love that is ours to claim.


In everything, give thanks to God! Encourage one another! Reach out to those in need so they may be raised up in the name of Christ! Those you lift today may be the ones to lift you tomorrow.


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. Patience! Self-Contol! O God, You challenge us to be the one You made! Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Through my simple words of encouragement, God can change lives.


Give grace to all! Pastor Liz


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Morning Devotional 051424 God is Our Refuge

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 14, 2024 Psalm 46:1-7 1 God is our refuge and strength, a help always near in times of great trouble. 2 That’s why we won’t be afraid w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page