top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 121422 Are You Ready?


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 14, 2022


Read Matthew 11:25-30


25 At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you’ve hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have shown them to babies. 26 Indeed, Father, this brings you happiness. 27 “My Father has handed all things over to me. No one knows the Son except the Father. And nobody knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wants to reveal him. 28 “Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. 29 Put on my yoke, and learn from me. I’m gentle and humble. And you will find rest for yourselves. 30 My yoke is easy to bear, and my burden is light.”

Good Morning, Jesus provides us with rest!


Each December represents the closing of another year. For many, it is a time of reflection, but we often arrive in December tired and weary. As we gear up for our holiday celebrations, we put on a happy face and power through as we dream of a less busy or stressful time of year.


December represents a new beginning as we prepare to receive the Christ child. Advent offers us the opportunity to find the hope, peace, joy, and love God sends us. The time is now! For behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy! Let go and let the Holy Spirit within you renew and rekindle the wonder and awe of Christmas.


In our passage today, Jesus promises those who come to him will find rest. Don’t waste another moment with worry: give your troubles to Christ. Open yourself to the coming miracle and be blessed. At the birth of a child, the world is forever changed. Christmas shouldn’t be something we power through out of obligation. Christmas is a new life for all who believe.


Prepare! This time is coming!


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. We are tired and we sometimes forget to prepare our hearts for Jesus. Help us accept Your gift so that we can find rest. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: The season’s news is good — Christ is born to us!


Celebrate your new birth! Pastor Liz


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page