top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 121222 Are You Satisfied?


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 12, 2022


Read Isaiah 55:1-3


1 All of you who are thirsty, come to the water! Whoever has no money, come, buy food and eat! Without money, at no cost, buy wine and milk! 2 Why spend money for what isn’t food, and your earnings for what doesn’t satisfy? Listen carefully to me and eat what is good; enjoy the richest of feasts. 3 Listen and come to me; listen, and you will live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful loyalty to David.

Good Morning, Rejoice, again I say rejoice!


In this passage, Isaiah is sharing the need to come and listen to the Word. Through God, our needs will be satisfied. Jesus uses these words when he promises the living water to all who believe.


Think about a time when you wanted or craved something. Let’s go with food (a subject with which I am well acquainted.) After a long day of work and expended energy, our bodies know what they need to be replenished. Eating a bag of chips or a cookie may bring immediate relief but within a very short time, you are still hungry. It is interesting that you could eat more junk food and still be left in need, or you can eat some type of protein and be satisfied.


But then I am reminded of the Israelites during their forty years of wandering in the wilderness, God provided them with manna to meet their needs, but they complained. Manna symbolizes complete nourishment. Just like our children on a long trip, “We’re tired of these snacks (manna), give us something else.” Even though the manna provided them will all they needed, they wanted more.


If we relate these ideas to our spiritual nourishment, we will find that for true nourishment, we need to spend time with God as we pray, praise God, and read scripture. An occasional prayer is good, but you will be left longing for more. Don’t be afraid to read the Bible! There will certainly be things that confuse and intimidate you, but God wants us to engage with the words as we wrestle to find meaning for us today.


Jesus calls us, “Come to me, and I will provide you with living water.” What is our manna?

God is waiting to spend time with us. Are we ready to feast with God, or do we walk away and leave our plate of nourishment on the table? “Take eat, this is my body given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.”


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. We are needy, yet we don’t always respond when you provide for us. Help us accept your gifts of nourishment. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Jesus is the true nourishment I need.


Claim your nourishment! Pastor Liz


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page