top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 120722 Blessed Beyond Measure


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 7, 2022


Read John 6:5-13


5 Jesus looked up and saw the large crowd coming toward him. He asked Philip, “Where will we buy food to feed these people?” 6 Jesus said this to test him, for he already knew what he was going to do. 7 Philip replied, “More than a half year’s salary worth of food wouldn’t be enough for each person to have even a little bit.” 8 One of his disciples, Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, said, 9 “A youth here has five barley loaves and two fish. But what good is that for a crowd like this?” 10 Jesus said, “Have the people sit down.” There was plenty of grass there. They sat down, about five thousand of them. 11 Then Jesus took the bread. When he had given thanks, he distributed it to those who were sitting there. He did the same with the fish, each getting as much as they wanted. 12 When they had plenty to eat, he said to his disciples, “Gather up the leftover pieces, so that nothing will be wasted.” 13 So they gathered them and filled twelve baskets with the pieces of the five barley loaves that had been left over by those who had eaten.

Good Morning, Those who share will be blessed!


The story of the fishes and loaves has been shared by many a pastor as a church group has anxiously awaited the arrival of members for a church dinner. As they looked upon the meager spread of food, they would ask themselves, how will this possibly be enough food for those who come? By the grace of God, the food that is shared among friends is always enough to fill us with satisfaction.


I remember a day when I was back in college and had forgotten my lunch at home. It was one of those full-class days when I didn’t have time to leave campus to purchase a meal. I was one of three older students in the music department, and I had befriended the other two older students. We usually gathered in the lounge area and ate our lunch together on this busy day of class. I was hungry, but I wasn’t going to starve, so I sat down with the soda that I had purchased to share a time of fellowship with my friends. One of them noticed that I didn’t have my lunch. He looked at me and offered me part of his lunch. I graciously accepted a portion of his lunch and we both were blessed in the sharing and eating of a meal.


Is the story of feeding the five thousand about physical food or spiritual food? Perhaps it is a story of sharing our abundance. I believe that the smallness of what is given is to help us understand that even a small amount given unselfishly in love can touch the lives of countless others. Most of us have had a moment in our lives when we had little to call our own. What amazes me is when I think of how many of my most blessed times have come when I did not have much.


Think of when you made homemade gifts because there was no money to spend on store-bought things. When we give of ourselves we are blessed, and for the one who is receiving that gift of love, they too are blessed. I can’t think of one thing that you can purchase in a store that comes close to the love that envelops our gifts from our hearts.


God can use the “small” gifts given in love to meet the needs of thousands who simply need to know that they are not alone.


The giving and receiving of love are precious to all. Blessed are those who give of themselves for they will be blessed abundantly. In this time of preparation for our gift of love from God, share your blessings with all.


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. Help us to consider the needs of those around us as we create our gift lists this year. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: How can I share my abundance with those in my community?


Share All that you have! Pastor Liz


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page