top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 092522 A New Day


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

September 25, 2022


Read: Isaiah 55:8-13


8 My plans aren’t your plans, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD. 9 Just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my plans than your plans. 10 Just as the rain and the snow come down from the sky and don’t return there without watering the earth, making it conceive and yield plants and providing seed to the sower and food to the eater, 11 so is my word that comes from my mouth; it does not return to me empty. Instead, it does what I want, and accomplishes what I intend. 12 Yes, you will go out with celebration, and you will be brought back in peace. Even the mountains and the hills will burst into song before you; all the trees of the field will clap their hands. 13 In place of the thorn the cypress will grow; in place of the nettle the myrtle will grow. This will attest to the LORD’s stature, an enduring reminder that won’t be removed.

Good morning! Stand up and bless the Lord!


As I watch the sky fill with the colors of the sunrise, I took time to consider this moment and how God has led me to this new beginning. When I came inside to read today’s passage, I smiled because it was a reflection of my thoughts this morning. Indeed, we must always remember that God’s ways are not our ways. As I viewed the colorful masterpiece across the sky, I felt the landscape burst into song before me.


In our stimulus field world, it is essential to take time and find moments of silence when we can listen to God. We must truly, deeply listen, and then we must be prepared to consider new ways that we might hear. These new ways might create a significant change in our lives. A big change is a scary thought for most of us. We often need time to let new ideas stew in our brains so that we can more easily grasp the meaning.

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:18-19 NIV


Possibilities surround us! We must open our hearts and commit ourselves fully to God and accept the peace that is given to those who believe. Each day gives us a new opportunity to grow in Christ as we serve others.


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. You promise that a new day is coming. May we remain steadfast in our faith. Thank you for caring for us and loving us. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Today I will give thanks for God’s providence.


Look for signs of a new day! Pastor Liz


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 042624 Share Your Blessings

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 24, 2024 Matthew 14:13-21 13 When Jesus heard about John, he withdrew in a boat to a deserted place by himself. When the crowds learn

Morning Devotional 042524 The Light is a Always Shining!

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 25, 2024 John 16:1-15 1 I have said these things to you so that you won’t fall away. 2 They will expel you from the synagogue. The ti

Morning Devotional 042424 Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room April 23, 2024 Hebrews 12:1-11 1 So then, with endurance, let’s also run the race that is laid out in front of us, since we have such a gre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page