top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 071321-God knows your name!

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 13, 2021


Read Matthew 10:29-31


29 Aren’t two sparrows sold for a small coin? But not one of them will fall to the ground without your Father knowing about it already. 30 Even the hairs of your head are all counted. 31 Don’t be afraid. You are worth more than many sparrows.

Good Morning! For his eye is on the sparrow!

As the heat and humidity of summer continue, God’s splendor is evident in the flowers decorating the landscape. I love the vibrant oranges, reds, yellows, pinks, and greens of summer. Each flower, each tomato, and each peach provides me with a sense of belonging. All things bright and beautiful, the Lord God made them all. As God’s children, we are unique and beautiful in every way.

When I make a change in our lives such as a new job, a new home, or a new classroom, I am excited but I yearn for that sense of belonging. The first time someone calls me by name I am comforted that I am known. We see this same idea presented in many ways in the Bible. When Jesus calls “Mary” immediately Mary knew that she was in the presence of her Lord and was comforted by hearing her name. One of my favorite passages is in Isaiah 49:16, See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.

To engrave something means it is there forever. Remember when you tried to write a number or message on your hand to remember something important, it would get blurred and go away pretty quickly and that information was lost. God engraves us on his palm so we are there forever, never forgotten. The thought of that gives me goosebumps, even on this humid morning. No matter how small or insignificant you may consider yourself, we are all special and worth remembering in God’s eyes. Not just worth remembering, but remembering our uniqueness in glorious details like the number of hairs on our head. Even more remarkably, God doesn't (just) count us; he calls us by name. Romans 9:28

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. Wow! You are an awesome God to whom we belong. May we believe in you, and be moved to share your glory with the world, so that all might be saved. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: No one is insignificant in the eyes of God! We are all special!


Listen! God is calling you by name! Pastor Liz



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page