top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070821 Embracing God's Love

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 8, 2021


Read Colossians 2:1-7


1 I want you to know how much I struggle for you, for those in Laodicea, and for all who haven’t known me personally. 2 My goal is that their hearts would be encouraged and united together in love so that they might have all the riches of assurance that come with understanding, so that they might have the knowledge of the secret plan of God, namely Christ. 3 All the treasures of wisdom and knowledge are hidden in him. 4 I’m telling you this so that no one deceives you with convincing arguments, 5 because even though I am absent physically, I’m with you in spirit. I’m happy to see the discipline and stability of your faith in Christ. 6 So live in Christ Jesus the Lord in the same way as you received him. 7 Be rooted and built up in him, be established in faith, and overflow with thanksgiving just as you were taught.

Good Morning! You are the vine, I am the branches

Praise God and call on His mighty name! As I watch the clouds this morning, I sense the Holy Spirit moving within me and around me. I also feel the strength that comes from being part of the one body in Christ. Last year, on July 8, I had no idea of what the next two weeks would bring. Lowell and I had some special time together and it seemed that he might be making some positive strides in his battle with cancer. I now know that it was the beginning of the end of Lowell’s earthly life. I cherish our last moments together, our last embrace, and those memories sustain me. I remember him saying, “everything is going to be okay,” with great conviction that could have only come from the peace the Lord placed within him.

As I read verses 6 and 7, I see the example of Lowell living in Christ Jesus, always rooted and established in faith and overflowing with thanksgiving. I strive to follow his conviction as I continue on my own journey of faith. May I be that shining light for those I encounter on my path!

As Christians, we often have times when it would be easier to sit and feel sorrow and maybe have our own pity party, but we must not be deceived by the earthly ways that support such ideas. We are called to embrace our challenges and share the love of our Lord and Savior with all of God’s children. When we join the community of faith, we are strengthened not only by God’s love but by all who walk the path with us. Reach out and share the love of God as you find your own peace and understanding through our Lord.

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. Life is full of challenges and we live in a world where depending upon others is often viewed as a weakness. May we continue to reach out to you and to our community of faith when we need help. Help us to understand that it is okay to turn over control to You. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: When I feel reluctant, God is still at work in me.


Embrace God’s love given to you! Pastor Liz



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page