top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070721-Clanging Cymbals

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 7, 2021


Read Psalm 86:8-10


8 My Lord! There is no one like you among the gods! There is nothing that can compare to your works! 9 All the nations that you’ve made will come and bow down before you, Lord; they will glorify your name, 10 because you are awesome and a wonder-worker. You are God. Just you.

Good Morning! Praise the Lord with Loud Cymbals!

I am beginning to feel at home as I personalize my townhouse and continue to remove the boxes. Each time I move is a unique experience, but as I examine the moves (especially those over the last thirty years) I find blessings in each one. With each new location, there are parts of my life that I have been able to change or refocus. With the help of the Holy Spirit, I am continuing to grow in my relationship with God and with growth comes change. I am ready to embrace the change and grow!

Think about a time when you have been excited about something. How did you act? Were you quiet, giddy, glowing, or screaming? We all present excitement differently, but imagine that the best thing ever happened to you. Take a moment to reflect upon what that might be! Would it be money or power, or perhaps a dream job or dream vacation? If those are first on your list, then it is time to refocus on God! God is the absolute best thing to ever happen in your life: yesterday, today, and tomorrow! It is easy to get caught up in earthly treasures. If being in a relationship with God is the best thing to ever happen to you, then we should not be quietly smiling, we should be shouting from the mountaintops: Praise God! Shouting for all to hear. Embrace the Holy Spirit working within you, accept the gifts you are given, and share the gifts with all.

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. It’s hard to imagine, but sometimes we forget that you have given the best gift ever to us in the form of your Son who died for our sins. Forgive us when we fail to share the Good News with others. We are afraid of not fitting in, or being laughed at. Shame on us! Be patient as we refocus on what is important in our lives. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Make a list of your blessings today! Is God first?


Shout God’s love from the mountaintop! Pastor Liz



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page