top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070621

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 6, 2021


Read Acts 27:13-26


13 When a gentle south wind began to blow, they thought they could carry out their plan. They pulled up anchor and sailed closely along the coast of Crete. 14 Before long, a hurricane-strength wind known as a northeaster swept down from Crete. 15 The ship was caught in the storm and couldn’t be turned into the wind. So we gave in to it, and it carried us along. 16 After sailing under the shelter of an island called Cauda, we were able to control the lifeboat only with difficulty. 17 They brought the lifeboat aboard, then began to wrap the ship with cables to hold it together. Fearing they might run aground on the sandbars of the Gulf of Syrtis, they lowered the anchor and let the ship be carried along. 18 We were so battered by the violent storm that the next day the men began throwing cargo overboard. 19 On the third day, they picked up the ship’s gear and hurled it into the sea. 20 When neither the sun nor the moon appeared for many days and the raging storm continued to pound us, all hope of our being saved from this peril faded. 21 For a long time no one had eaten. Paul stood up among them and said, “Men, you should have complied with my instructions not to sail from Crete. Then we would have avoided this damage and loss. 22 Now I urge you to be encouraged. Not one of your lives will be lost, though we will lose the ship. 23 Last night an angel from the God to whom I belong and whom I worship stood beside me. 24 The angel said, ‘Don’t be afraid, Paul! You must stand before Caesar! Indeed, God has also graciously given you everyone sailing with you.’ 25 Be encouraged, men! I have faith in God that it will be exactly as he told me. 26 However, we must run aground on some island.”

Good Morning! When the storms of life are raging, stand by me!

It is another beautiful day to awaken and bless the Lord. Bless the Lord, O My Soul, worship His Holy name! When I consider the past year of my life, I had moments when I felt as if the storm was converging around me, but I emerged from the storm safely through God’s love and mercy. Today, I am in a place that I could never have imagined in July 2020.

I am stronger and in love with my Lord and Savior as I answer my calling to serve the children of God. God doesn’t promise that I will not face challenges, but does promise to be there by my side leading me on my journey. Thanks be to God. I embrace the signs of God working in my life and often sense His presence through music. This morning the words, but also the lilting melody and lively rhythm of There’s Within My Heart a Melody is bouncing in and around my brain.

There's within my heart a melody; Jesus whispers sweet and low,

"Fear not, I am with you, peace, be still," in all of life's ebb and flow.

Refrain:

Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, sweetest name I know,

fills my every longing, Keeps me singing as I go.


Though sometimes He leads through waters deep, trials fall across the way;

though sometimes the path seems rough and steep, See His footprints all the way.

[Refrain]

Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, sweetest name I know,

fills my every longing, Keeps me singing as I go.

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. We face many challenges in our lives, but we know that when we call on you, you will be with us. Nothing is impossible when we trust in You. Help us to sing your praises as we embrace our daily journey. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Jesus is my anchor of hope.


Keep singing as you go! Pastor Liz



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page