top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070521

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 5, 2021


Read 1 Samuel 16:1-13


1 The LORD said to Samuel, “How long are you going to grieve over Saul? I have rejected him as king over Israel. Fill your horn with oil and get going. I’m sending you to Jesse of Bethlehem because I have found my next king among his sons.” 2 “How can I do that?” Samuel asked. “When Saul hears of it he’ll kill me!” “Take a heifer with you,” the LORD replied, “and say, ‘I have come to make a sacrifice to the LORD.’ 3 Invite Jesse to the sacrifice, and I will make clear to you what you should do. You will anoint for me the person I point out to you.” 4 Samuel did what the LORD instructed. When he came to Bethlehem, the city elders came to meet him. They were shaking with fear. “Do you come in peace?” they asked. 5 “Yes,” Samuel answered. “I’ve come to make a sacrifice to the LORD. Now make yourselves holy, then come with me to the sacrifice.” Samuel made Jesse and his sons holy and invited them to the sacrifice as well. 6 When they arrived, Samuel looked at Eliab and thought, That must be the LORD’s anointed right in front. 7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Have no regard for his appearance or stature, because I haven’t selected him. God doesn’t look at things like humans do. Humans see only what is visible to the eyes, but the LORD sees into the heart.” 8 Next Jesse called for Abinadab, who presented himself to Samuel, but he said, “The LORD hasn’t chosen this one either.” 9 So Jesse presented Shammah, but Samuel said, “No, the LORD hasn’t chosen this one.” 10 Jesse presented seven of his sons to Samuel, but Samuel said to Jesse, “The LORD hasn’t picked any of these.” 11 Then Samuel asked Jesse, “Is that all of your boys?” “There is still the youngest one,” Jesse answered, “but he’s out keeping the sheep.” “Send for him,” Samuel told Jesse, “because we can’t proceed until he gets here.” 12 So Jesse sent and brought him in. He was reddish brown, had beautiful eyes, and was good-looking. The LORD said, “That’s the one. Go anoint him.” 13 So Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him right there in front of his brothers. The LORD’s spirit came over David from that point forward. Then Samuel left and went to Ramah.

Good Morning! Jesus loves the little children!

The feast is ready! Christ invites each of us to His table! Yesterday, was a day of many firsts for me: I met each of my new congregations, I preached my first sermon and officiated my first communion services. Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place. I have yet to find the words to describe my feelings, perhaps for now I’ll let the songs in my heart express my love. I thank all those who have been a part of my long journey to get to this place along my path. Hallelujah, Amen!

How many times have we been taught or told to never judge a book by its cover? As adults, we even teach this message to our youth. Yet, we continue to be ruled by this practice. It is instinctual, innate, and seemingly necessary for our survival. Even when we approach others with open hearts, minds, and souls, somewhere in the deep recesses of our brains we are reminded that we shouldn’t approach this unique individual or situation. When we only choose the “normal” or “well-defined” direction, we must consider the treasures that we miss along the way. Stopping to speak with someone who appears unlike us, often provides us with a message that enlightens us. Choosing a path less followed will undoubtedly lead to challenges, but the rewards are often immense.

When I think of unique individuals, John the Baptist always comes to mind. He is described as the nomad wandering through the desert eating locusts and crying out the message that Jesus is coming. Considering his circumstances, I’m sure he was unkempt and honestly dirty. He likely did not smell too good. What would you do if approached by someone resembling my imagery of John the Baptist? Would you rush to listen to his words, or would you quickly walk away? Imagine missing the messages that John was sharing! Messages missed because John looked “wild, uncivilized, unkempt, and smelly.” Do not judge a book by its cover! Embrace the message that you teach openly.

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. You created us in your image, but you gave us the ability to make our own choices. We are imperfect beings and we make so many mistakes as we make assumptions about those we meet. May we learn to look to what is in someone’s heart, and not be distracted by their outward appearance. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: What have I missed by focusing on the packaging and not the contents of God’s children?


Kyrie Eleison (Lord, have mercy)! Pastor Liz



21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page