top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070421

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 4, 2021


Read Psalm 42:1-11

1 Just like a deer that craves streams of water, my whole being craves you, God. 2 My whole being thirsts for God, for the living God. When will I come and see God’s face? 3 My tears have been my food both day and night, as people constantly questioned me, “Where’s your God now?” 4 But I remember these things as I bare my soul: how I made my way to the mighty one’s abode, to God’s own house, with joyous shouts and thanksgiving songs a huge crowd celebrating the festival! 5 Why I ask myself, are you so depressed? Why are you so upset inside? Hope in God! Because I will again give him thanks, my saving presence, and my God. 6 My whole being is depressed. That’s why I remember you from the land of Jordan and Hermon, from Mount Mizar. 7 Deep called to deep at the noise of your waterfalls; all your massive waves surged over me. 8 By day the LORD commands his faithful love; by night his song is with me a prayer to the God of my life. 9 I will say to God, my solid rock, “Why have you forgotten me? Why do I have to walk around, sad, oppressed by enemies?” 10 With my bones crushed, my foes make fun of me, constantly questioning me: “Where’s your God now?” 11 Why, I ask myself, are you so depressed? Why are you so upset inside? Hope in God! Because I will again give him thanks, my saving presence, and my God.

Good Morning! Rejoice in the Lord always! Again, I say rejoice!

As I arise this morning, I am excited to begin a new chapter of my life and of my ministry. This morning I will meet my new congregations as I go to share the words that God has placed on my heart. I believe that God will be with me each step of my journey and show me how to best meet the needs of South Fluvanna Charge. I place my trust in you, O Lord. Where He leads me, I will follow.

This is a perplexing passage because it teeters between lament and trust/hope. In the first verse, I am reminded of the beautiful praise song, As the deer panteth for the water so my soul longs after Thee. You are all that my heart desires and I long to worship You. You alone my strength my shield; to you alone that my spirit yield. You alone that my heart desire and I long to worship You. But then David lapses into this interesting litany where one moment he is depressed, and then the next moment he has hope. We often have similar internal struggles in our lives.

Have you ever tried to keep your thoughts hidden from others? I would guess that most of us have had this experience at some point in our lives. Typically, hiding our thoughts does not end well for either person. Have you ever been upset with God? Did you confront God, or did you try to hold it inside? It’s okay to be upset with God, but in sharing our feelings, we are made whole. God knows our thoughts before we do, but desires for us to bare our soul to him. In this passage, David openly shares his complaints with God as he works through his depression. David is away from home and desperately wishes to be among His people where He can worship God within the community of faith. Despite his struggles, he continues to praise God and rely upon the promise of hope. When we admit our doubt and our struggles, God can heal us and care for us.

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. Humans are such interesting beings. One moment we think we are in charge and we can take care of any problems that arise, but the next moment we are calling on God. When we give over control to God, we will be saved. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Being honest with God leads to healing and wholeness.


Share your whole being with God! Pastor Liz



25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page