top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070321

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 3, 2021


Read Philippians 4:4-13

4 Be glad in the Lord always! Again I say, be glad! 5 Let your gentleness show in your treatment of all people. The Lord is near. 6 Don’t be anxious about anything; rather, bring up all of your requests to God in your prayers and petitions, along with giving thanks. 7 Then the peace of God that exceeds all understanding will keep your hearts and minds safe in Christ Jesus. 8 From now on, brothers and sisters, if anything is excellent and if anything is admirable, focus your thoughts on these things: all that is true, all that is holy, all that is just, all that is pure, all that is lovely, and all that is worthy of praise. 9 Practice these things: whatever you learned, received, heard, or saw in us. The God of peace will be with you. 10 I was very glad in the Lord because now at last you have shown concern for me again. (Of course, you were always concerned but had no way to show it.) 11 I’m not saying this because I need anything, for I have learned how to be content in any circumstance. 12 I know the experience of being in need and of having more than enough; I have learned the secret to being content in any and every circumstance, whether full or hungry or whether having plenty or being poor. 13 I can endure all these things through the power of the one who gives me strength.

Good Morning! Rejoice in the Lord always! Again, I say rejoice!

My morning walks are a special time of day for me. In the quietness of the predawn, I can fully focus on my Lord and Savior. Each new morning brings the anticipation of possibilities that I have not yet considered. I have a plaque by my bedside that says “Be a possibilitarian” which is not a real word, yet it perfectly describes opening up yourself to all God has to offer. Imagine a world in which people focus on what is possible!

Anyone who knows me knows this passage is very special to me. Verses 4 and 13 have been my mantra over this past year. Today I want to focus on verse 5. 5 Let your gentleness show in your treatment of all people. The Lord is near. How do you treat people? As we travel on our journey of life, we encounter diverse groups of people. If I asked you to describe these people, many of us would focus on their physical attributes such as their gender, age, race, or culture. The list is endless. For today, I want you to consider people as gentle or harsh. In our society today, gentleness can be construed as weakness or unlikely for success. However, we must always remember that Jesus showed us a new way, an upside-down or inside-out way to view the world where the last shall be first. Jesus was kind and gentle. He focused on taking care of others, and through his death and resurrection, he saved all who call on His name. Jesus did not convert people by carrying a sword in his hand, but instead with a sword in his side. Hallelujah! How can we work to be gentle in a world filled with harshness? We can accomplish this through the power of the one who gives me strength. Can I get an AMEN!

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. Jesus showed us a new way to embrace the world with gentleness. Help us make this work in a world where harshness is valued by so many who live with a me-first attitude. Through You, I can accomplish all things. Again I say rejoice! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Through gentleness comes great strength.


Be gentle with those you meet! Pastor Liz



34 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page