top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 070221

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

July 2, 2021


Read Psalm 139:13-18

13 You are the one who created my innermost parts; you knit me together while I was still in my mother’s womb. 14 I give thanks to you that I was marvelously set apart. Your works are wonderful—I know that very well. 15 My bones weren’t hidden from you when I was being put together in a secret place when I was being woven together in the deep parts of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my embryo, and on your scroll, every day was written that was being formed for me before any one of them had yet happened. 17 God, your plans are incomprehensible to me! Their total number is countless! 18 If I tried to count them—they outnumber grains of sand! If I came to the very end—I’d still be with you.

Good Morning! Stand Up and Bless the Lord!

With the rain comes renewal. As I walked outside this morning, the gentle, cleansing rain touched my face and I felt peace. God provides many signs for us along our journeys. We are called to trust God and move forward on our path. For most of us, we have times in our lives when we hope things will stay just as they are for a while longer because we are comfortable, but God knows better. When we remain stagnant, we do not grow and eventually we wither and die. God sent us Jesus to teach us, to show us how to love one another, and how to share God’s love to the ends of the earth.

God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. Genesis 1:31 Through the Holy Spirit working within us, God’s plan is revealed to us as we are ready to receive it. Even when we think that we should stay, God pushes us to the next step of our lives so that we may grow and be fruitful. As we have read and heard so many times when we step out in faith, God will be with us every step of the way and we will be blessed. Your steps may be small, almost unnoticeable, but still moving forward. Sometimes we are called to take big steps. God is there supporting us along the way as we journey towards our eternal glory and fulfill God’s plan for each of us.

Loving God, Thank You for loving us. We often wish that we could remain in our current “now”, but if we linger we are soon living in the past. Even though you promise that our futures will be bright, we still are hesitant to step out in faith, trusting You completely. Be will us as we let go of our worries and trust in you. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it” (Ps. 118:24, NRSV).


Trust God! Pastor Liz



27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page