top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 063021

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

June 30, 2021


Read Isaiah 41:1-14


1 Be quiet before me, coastlands. Let the nations renew their strength. Let them approach and speak. Let’s draw near for a judgment. 2 Who has awakened one from the east and has authority to summon him to serve to give him nations, conquering kings, making them like dust with his sword, like scattered straw with his bow? 3 He pursues them and passes untouched, needing no path for his feet. 4 Who has acted and who has done this, calling upon generation after generation since the beginning? I, the LORD, was first, and I will be the last! 5 The coastlands see and fear; the ends of the earth tremble; they draw near and arrive. 6 Each helps the other, each saying to the other, “Take courage!” 7 The craftsman encourages the metalworker; the one who smoothes with the hammer encourages the one who strikes the anvil, saying of the welding, “That’s good,” and strengthening it with nails so it won’t move. 8 But you, Israel my servant, Jacob, whom I have chosen, offspring of Abraham, whom I love, 9 you whom I took from the ends of the earth and called from its farthest corners, saying to you, “You are my servant; I chose you and didn’t reject you”: 10 Don’t fear, because I am with you; don’t be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, I will surely help you; I will hold you with my righteous strong hand. 11 All who rage against you will be shamed and disgraced. Those who contend with you will be as nothing and will perish. 12 You will look for your opponents, and won’t find them. Those who fight you will be of no account and will die. 13 I am the LORD your God, who grasps your strong hand, who says to you, Don’t fear; I will help you. 14 Don’t fear, worm of Jacob, people of Israel! I will help you, says the LORD. The holy one of Israel is your redeemer.

Fear Not, for I am your God! Isaiah 41:10

Good Morning! Rejoice! Rejoice! Again I say rejoice!

As I prepare to share my last official devotional with you as your pastor, I find strength through my Lord and Savior. Jesus taught us that He is the good shepherd who cares for us, his sheep, he protects and provides for us. As pastors, we are called to serve God’s children. You will all be forever part of my family and I feel compelled to protect and provide for you. You are part of my daily prayers, and I pray that you will continue to grow in faith as you travel along your journey. Please continue to pray for me as well. As members of the community of faith, we are forever bound together.


As part of the itineracy ministry, pastors are asked to step away so that your new pastor, Pastor Scott, can establish himself. This means that we shouldn’t have conversations about how things are different or what you don’t like. However, you may continue to share your lives with me: your joys and your sorrows. I keep up with some of you on social media, but emails, letters, and cards are also a great way to share. You may reach out to me and visit, but for a time I need to limit reaching out to you. I will always be ready to help you whatever your needs. I love you all, but now I leave you in the hands of your new pastor. I know that you will show him the same love and support that you have shown me and my family.


Creator God, Thank You for loving us. Lead us and help us as we celebrate a day of new beginnings. May we share in your love together in unimaginable ways. A dear friend reminded me last night, it is time for me to turn over the watch. (Navy reference) In Jesus' name, we pray. Amen.


Thought for the day: God’s love transcends time and space to bind us together forever.


Grace, Love, and Joy! Pastor Liz


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page