top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 062621

Liz’s Morning Devotional based upon Upper Room

June 26, 2021


Read Psalm 23:1-6


1 The LORD is my shepherd. I lack nothing. 2 He lets me rest in grassy meadows; he leads me to restful waters; 3 he keeps me alive. He guides me in proper paths for the sake of his good name. 4 Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no danger because you are with me. Your rod and your staff protect me. 5 You set a table for me right in front of my enemies. You bathe my head in oil; my cup is so full it spills over! 6 Yes, goodness and faithful love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the LORD’s house as long as I live. Common English Bible

Good Morning! Rejoice! Rejoice! Again I say rejoice!

I awoke to a gentle rain this morning. As Neon and I meandered around our new neighborhood, I was reflecting upon the past 7 years at Rodes and in Afton. So many blessings, yet so many unexpected changes. Thank you all for your love and support.


Have you ever noticed that when we “read” bible verses that we know well, such as Psalm 23, we often lapse into recitation. This is not bad and I certainly find comfort in those passages that I know from memory due to repeated readings and recitations. However, it is sometimes interesting to read a passage so well known through a different lens. i.e. a different translation. Upper Room routinely uses the Common English Bible on their website, so when I clicked on our devotion for today, I began to read and immediately thought, “oh, this is the 23rd Psalm!”, and without realizing it, I began reciting the beautifully worded King James translation. I then reread this different translation and found new comfort and appreciation for these familiar words. God is the Good Shepherd who leads us forever.


As we read scripture, there are so many references to God and Jesus as our shepherd and protector. As “self-sufficient” adults (at least that’s how we sometimes think of ourselves), we often have difficulty letting go and trusting God. We want to hold on to what we know, but we must remember that God is always there for us acting as our safety net. Despite our wanderings, he will be there to lead us back to the flock. Thanks be to God!


Creator God, Thank You for loving us. May you always protect us when we stray from the flock. In Jesus' name, we pray. Amen.


Thought for the day: Today I will place my trust in God, our Shepherd.


Trust God! Live Joy! Pastor Liz


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Morning Devotional 051424 God is Our Refuge

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 14, 2024 Psalm 46:1-7 1 God is our refuge and strength, a help always near in times of great trouble. 2 That’s why we won’t be afraid w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page