top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 042024 Unexpected Answers


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  April 20, 2024

Colossians 4:2-6

2 Keep on praying and guard your prayers with thanksgiving. 3 At the same time, pray for us also. Pray that God would open a door for the word so we can preach the secret plan of Christ—which is why I’m in chains. 4 Pray that I might be able to make it as clear as I ought to when I preach. 5 Act wisely toward outsiders, making the most of the opportunity. 6 Your speech should always be gracious and sprinkled with insight so that you may know how to respond to every person.


Good Morning! In all things, pray!


Paul is asking for prayers so that he might continue spreading the Good News to those who are ready to listen. Verse 6, 6 Your speech should always be gracious and sprinkled with insight so that you may know how to respond to every person, caught my attention this morning. 


I have had times when someone said something to me and I did not know how to respond. As I consider this, I realize that it happens most often when I am unprepared for the question. Typically, our minds focus on what we expect to hear, not what is actually said. 


I remember a time when I was teaching a group of students in a music class. I had been sharing information about our music topic for the day. A few students were listening, but many seemed to be off in their own thoughts. One particular student seemed to be latching on to every word I said. It was as if she was staring into my mind to glean new insight on the topic. It was exciting to watch her desire to gain knowledge.


She raised her hand. When I called on her, I was expecting a great question, but instead, she blurted out, “Mrs. Petry, you have blue eyes!” I was prepared to answer a question about our topic, but at that moment, I didn’t know what to say. After an awkward moment of silence, I said to her, “Yes, I do.” 


When we pray, we imagine or expect certain answers based on our focus. It is common for people to think that God isn’t listening or that their prayer is answered. What if the answer is unexpected, and we simply don’t know how to respond? I don’t think that Abraham, at 99 years old, was praying to father a new nation. God’s answer was certainly unexpected. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. O God, help us hear you speaking to us. We assume we know the way, but we can’t even imagine what you have planned for us. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Jesus is calling! Are we ready to respond?


We have faith! Help our lack of faith! Pastor Liz


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 050324 Look and See

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 3, 2024 1 Corinthians 10:23-33 23 Everything is permitted, but everything isn’t beneficial. Everything is permitted, but everything doe

Morning Devotional 050224 Fear Not, God is With Us

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 2, 2024 Joshua 1:1-9 1 After Moses the LORD’s servant died, the LORD spoke to Joshua, Nun’s son. He had been Moses’ helper. 2 “My serva

Morning Devotional 050124 New Beginnings

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 1, 2024 Isaiah 61:1-6 1 The LORD God’s spirit is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me. He has sent me to bring good news to the po

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page