top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 041824 Open Our Eyes, Lord!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  April 18, 2024

Revelation 3:14-21


14 “Write this to the angel of the church in Laodicea: These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. 15 I know your works. You are neither cold nor hot. I wish that you were either cold or hot. 16 So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I’m about to spit you out of my mouth. 17 After all, you say, ‘I’m rich, and I’ve grown wealthy, and I don’t need a thing.’ You don’t realize that you are miserable, pathetic, poor, blind, and naked. 18 My advice is that you buy gold from me that has been purified by fire so that you may be rich, and white clothing to wear so that your nakedness won’t be shamefully exposed, and ointment to put on your eyes so that you may see. 19 I correct and discipline those whom I love. So be earnest and change your hearts and lives. 20 Look! I’m standing at the door and knocking. If any hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to be with them, and will have dinner with them, and they will have dinner with me. 21 As for those who emerge victorious, I will allow them to sit with me on my throne, just as I emerged victorious and sat down with my Father on his throne.


Good Morning! Open our eyes that we may see!


In the course of a day, consider how many special things you miss seeing. When my granddaughter, Elizabeth, was very young I noticed that she seemed to see more than most. She would come to visit and immediately notice when I rearranged things or when something was new. Others would not notice until it was pointed out to them. 


As we scurry and rush from place to place, or from one appointment to another, we miss so much of God’s handiwork. The old adage, take time to smell the roses, is relevant to our daily walk. Is our earthly ambition more important than our walk with Christ? 


I would call myself a full-immersion “viewer” of my surroundings. I revel in engaging all of my senses so that I can fully experience the things that surround me. When I go shopping, I don’t just glance at the things that are displayed. I try to take time and whenever possible, touch, listen, look, and smell the things that fill the space. 

When I was driving home from Lexington, as the sun started to fill the sky ahead of me, I smiled and said out loud, “Oh My!” When I was watching and listening to Elizabeth’s concert last night, I smile as I saw her immersing herself into each word, note, and breath of the songs they sang. As Alex, my son, remarked, “she sings with her whole face!” 


May we use God’s ointment to put on your eyes so that you may see. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. Help us slow down and see your handiwork so that we will not miss a moment of your grandeur. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Look for glimpses of God’s love for us today.


Open our eyes, Lord. Pastor Liz


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 050224 Fear Not, God is With Us

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 2, 2024 Joshua 1:1-9 1 After Moses the LORD’s servant died, the LORD spoke to Joshua, Nun’s son. He had been Moses’ helper. 2 “My serva

Morning Devotional 050124 New Beginnings

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 1, 2024 Isaiah 61:1-6 1 The LORD God’s spirit is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me. He has sent me to bring good news to the po

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page