top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 032124 Talk to God


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  March 21, 2024

Psalm 66:16-20

16 Come close and listen, all you who honor God; I will tell you what God has done for me: 17 My mouth cried out to him with praise on my tongue. 18 If I had cherished evil in my heart, my Lord would not have listened. 19 But God definitely listened. He heard the sound of my prayer. 20 Bless God! He didn’t reject my prayer; he didn’t withhold his faithful love from me.


Good Morning! God listens to our prayers!


Prayer is our way of talking to God, our Creator. God hears all our prayers and promises to care for all who praise His holy name. Sometimes, we feel as if our prayers are unanswered when things don’t go the way we want them to. 


First, we must remember that God’s ways are not our ways. Secondly, we must have faith that God hears us and realize that just because we don’t get the answer we want, doesn’t mean that God didn’t answer our prayer. 


God isn’t going to help us pass a test, get a promotion, or win a ballgame. God is with us to help us when we face challenges. Maybe our prayers should not be to “win” but to endure and to do our best. God will never withhold his faithful love from those who believe and ask for help. 


Just as earthly parents know, God is also by our side when it is time for tough love. We, God’s children, make choices that result in unexpected challenges. God will hold our hands and comfort us as we pick up the pieces of our mess. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. Thank you for being ready to listen. Bless us as we face our challenges. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Prayer draws us closer to God.


Talk to God! Pastor Liz


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page