top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 031924 Shine Brightly


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  March 19, 2024

John 15:5-8

5 I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, then you will produce much fruit. Without me, you can’t do anything. 6 If you don’t remain in me, you will be like a branch that is thrown out and dries up. Those branches are gathered up, thrown into a fire, and burned. 7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you. 8 My Father is glorified when you produce much fruit and in this way prove that you are my disciples.


Good Morning! Crown him with many crowns!


I love to see the daffodils bloom each spring. They are one of the first plants to show life in my flower gardens, and their bright yellow flowers are a vivid reminder that spring is coming. Daffodils are resilient! Growing up in Indiana I remember more than one time that even though the daffodils were surrounded by snow, they were still blooming. 


I love to cut a few and bring them indoors to enjoy, but I know that the blooms fade much quicker than when I leave them outdoors attached to their plant. When the flowers are gone, the leaves continue to do their work absorbing minerals and nutrients to nourish the bulb that will produce the next flowers the following spring. 


In our faith journey, we resemble the daffodils. We stand strong through adversity, and our blooms shine brightly for all to see. As long as we remain connected to Christ, we live. When we are plucked or cut away, we survive for a bit, but soon, we fade into the shadows and die. For those who remain through the seasons of life, we nurture our souls through praying, reading scripture, and joining in fellowship so that we produce fruit and propagate new fruit for the survival of future generations. 


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We feel strong when we are actively producing fruit. Keep us strong when we are in our times of nurturing our foundation. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Spend time with God each day!


Shine brightly for others to see! Pastor Liz


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page