top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 031824 God Knows Our Needs


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

  March 18, 2024

Psalm 31:1-5

1 I take refuge in you, LORD. Please never let me be put to shame. Rescue me by your righteousness! 2 Listen closely to me! Deliver me quickly; be a rock that protects me; be a strong fortress that saves me! 3 You are definitely my rock and my fortress. Guide me and lead me for the sake of your good name! 4 Get me out of this net that’s been set for me because you are my protective fortress. 5 I entrust my spirit into your hands; you, LORD, God of faithfulness you have saved me.

Good Morning! Entrust your spirit into God’s hands


This Psalm is one of David’s laments. He feels lost and weak and he is calling to God. David is all over the place. One minute, he admits God is his refuge, and immediately, he shifts into telling God what to do. Finally, in verse 5, he is back to giving himself and his troubles to God. 


When I’m under duress, my thoughts ping around my head like a pinball game. My thoughts and concerns activate lights, bells, whistles, and flappers. In these moments, my prayers are like David’s, where I jump from one thought to another. I go from praise to worry, to trying to be in control, and finally, to giving the problem to God. 


In a way, I find comfort in David’s struggles because I see that even God’s chosen leaders have flaws. When I read of David’s imperfection, I understand that God loves us even when we can’t make sense of our thoughts and our situations. All we have to do is let go and let God.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We find ourselves in hard situations and we don’t know our next step. Thank you for listening when we need to talk it out. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Christ is our rock and our fortress.


God hears our needs even when we can’t form them in words! Pastor Liz


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page