top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 030323 Filled With the Spirit


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

March 3, 2023


Read John 14:15-21


15 “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. 16 I will ask the Father, and he will send another Companion, who will be with you forever. 17 This Companion is the Spirit of Truth, whom the world can’t receive because it neither sees him nor recognizes him. You know him, because he lives with you and will be with you. 18 “I won’t leave you as orphans. I will come to you. 19 Soon the world will no longer see me, but you will see me. Because I live, you will live too. 20 On that day you will know that I am in my Father, you are in me, and I am in you. 21 Whoever has my commandments and keeps them loves me. Whoever loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love them and reveal myself to them.”

Good Morning, Because he lives, we can face tomorrow!


I love to have a companion when I am traveling. It is great to have someone you know by your side, especially when you are going on a trip or entering a room full of people you don’t know. In both of those times, I liked having a known acquaintance with me so that I didn’t become consumed by the awkwardness of silence. It is hard to be comfortable when we are faced with the unknown or uncertain.


God, the Father, sent to us the Holy Spirit, who is within us each step of the way. The Spirit of Truth accompanies us on our faith journey and works to transform us into the image of Christ. I am reminded of a beautiful Rodgers and Hammerstein song that was a favorite of a church member, “You’ll Never Walk Alone.” This song reminds us that our journey is not without struggles but that we are never alone, no matter where we walk.


Scripture reminds us that God is always with us, knows everything we think and do, and goes with us everywhere we go. David had this discussion as he called to God in many of the Psalms.


7 Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? 8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, 10 even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” 12 even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. Psalm 139:7-12


We are never alone through God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. God the Father awaits our arrival with open arms. The light of Christ shines through the darkness to light our way home. The Holy Spirit shapes and fills us with the power and truth of God.


Gracious God, Thank You for being with us. You bless us. Oh Lord, we wander from Your path at times. We are broken and lose our way. Thank you for being with us to guide us, provide the light, and welcome us. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: God's Spirit comforts and dwells within me.


Never Alone! Pastor Liz


16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page