top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 030123 Great Time of Day!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

March 1, 2023


Read Philippians 4:4-7


4 Be glad in the Lord always! Again I say, be glad! 5 Let your gentleness show in your treatment of all people. The Lord is near. 6 Don’t be anxious about anything; rather, bring up all of your requests to God in your prayers and petitions, along with giving thanks. 7 Then the peace of God that exceeds all understanding will keep your hearts and minds safe in Christ Jesus.

Good Morning, REJOICE!


Philippians 4:4-7 is one of those passages that just seeing it listed as today’s passage makes me get goosebumps. It brings such a sense of joy to my heart that I’m smiling from the inside out. As pastor Jim Ritter, a lifelong friend of my family would say, “Great time of Day! Hallelujah!” Jim was the embodiment of joy for me at a time when I was seeking answers. May you rest in peace, Jim, good and faithful servant of God.


Through his actions, I learned to let go of the things over which we have no control and to allow the Holy Spirit to work through me. Jim brought this sense of peace to the room that most of us struggle to find. I wish I could say that I have mastered this, giving my worries to God, but I am still a work in progress. Our journey of faith is a lifelong trek during which we learn about the grace and love of God.


Even when it seems as if the world is crumbling around us, God is there to hold our hands and place our feet on solid ground. Christ came to show us the way. He conquered sin and death through his suffering, death, and resurrection. Jesus is our beacon of light to connect us to Almighty God. When we let go of our earthly worries and treasures, we open the space within our hearts, souls, and minds for peace to rush in and fill this void.


When we are struggling, call out to God. He will hear your cry. He is waiting for you. Psalm 34:38 tells us, “He is near to the broken-hearted.” He is closer than the air you breathe and wants to bear your burden.

“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you…” (James 4:8)


Gracious God, Thank You for being with us. You bless us. We need you, O Lord. Help us “let go of our worries!” Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Today, I will turn over my fears and troubles to God.


Again, I say REJOICE! Pastor Liz


20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 52124 God Know Us By Name

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 21, 2024 Psalm 50:7-15 7 “Listen, my people, and I will speak. I will testify against you, Israel: I am God, your God. 8 I bring no cha

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page