top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 022623 Lifting the Fog


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 26, 2023


Read Matthew 11:25-30


25 At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you’ve hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have shown them to babies. 26 Indeed, Father, this brings you happiness. 27 “My Father has handed all things over to me. No one knows the Son except the Father. And nobody knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wants to reveal him. 28 “Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. 29 Put on my yoke, and learn from me. I’m gentle and humble. And you will find rest for yourselves. 30 My yoke is easy to bear, and my burden is light.”

Good Morning, This is a great day to praise God!


When I peer into the fog this morning, I reflect on yesterday’s passage about lifting the veil so that we might see clearly. 16 But whenever someone turns back to the Lord, the veil is removed. For those who have yet to find or accept Christ into their lives, they live in a world shrouded by fog.


Christians see the glory that lies in the possibilities of the light. We need to be the babies of whom Jesus speaks in verse 25. Babies anticipate joy more openly than adults because they have not yet developed the cynicism that veils our hope. Cynicism adds weight to our struggles because it eats away at our hope.


Jesus is offering to take away our heavy loads and give us rest. As the fog lifts this morning, take joy as the path in front of you becomes more clear. Instead of seeing blobs and shadows, we will see distinct images to show us the way to Christ. Christ is the one who lifts the veil that hides the glory of God.


Most of you probably remember when Dorothy is transported from Kansas to Oz. Especially in that time when technicolor was brand new, the viewers gasped when they saw the beautiful color come to life on the screen before them when Dorothy awakened in Oz.


A few weeks ago, we looked at two choices: Life and Blessings or Death and Curses.

Life and Blessings give us immediate access to God through Christ. When we make the choice, we move from the fog or the grayscale images to clarity and the bright technicolor of God’s majesty and glory that is present for all who have come to Jesus. Jesus paid our ticket price of admission. Come unto Jesus, and he will free us from our burdens and heavy loads.


Gracious God, Thank You for being with us. You bless us. We have a choice to make. It seems so obvious, yet we struggle to let go of our earthly ways. Thank you for giving us the time to choose. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: I will allow Christ to take my burden so that I can find rest.


Make your choice, and be blessed! Pastor Liz


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page