top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 022523 Turn Your Radio On


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 25, 2023


Read 2 Corinthians 3:12-18


12 So, since we have such a hope, we act with great confidence. 13 We aren’t like Moses, who used to put a veil over his face so that the Israelites couldn’t watch the end of what was fading away. 14 But their minds were closed. Right up to the present day, the same veil remains when the old covenant is read. The veil is not removed because it is taken away by Christ. 15 Even today, whenever Moses is read, a veil lies over their hearts. 16 But whenever someone turns back to the Lord, the veil is removed. 17 The Lord is the Spirit, and where the Lord’s Spirit is, there is freedom. 18 All of us are looking with unveiled faces at the glory of the Lord as if we were looking in a mirror. We are being transformed into that same image from one degree of glory to the next degree of glory. This comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

Good Morning, O Lord, you are my God! And Step by step You'll lead me, And I will follow You all of my days.


I watch as the canvas of the sky changes with each passing moment. This golden illumination is just beginning to announce the sun's impending arrival. During my moments of solitude, as I reflected and prayed with God, my heart was filled with these words: O Lord, you are my God! And Step by Step, You’ll lead me, and I will follow You all of my days.


Songs stream through my soul with regularity. I am beginning to believe that this “special” channel is not in random selection mode. Time after time, day after day, these songs have been purposely chosen to help me see so that my path becomes awash in light and glory.

As my mind conjured my memories of this beautiful Michael J. Smith song, I saw the face and determination of a special five-year-old child, Rebekah, who, when the Rodes choir would sing this song, joined us in singing.


When I looked into her face, I did not see any doubt, but I saw determination, hope, and joy. She did not sing with a meek voice, but she glowed as she confidently sang: Step by step, you’ll lead me. And I will follow you all of my days.


And a little child shall lead us . . . If only we were so easily moved to this place of comfort.


Paul reminds us that through the death and resurrection of Christ, God graces us when we see the glory of the Lord when we look into a mirror. With each step we take, we are being transformed into that image of glory, one degree at a time.


Gracious God, Thank You for being with us. You bless us. Only by your grace do we enter into a relationship with You. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: God’s mercy, grace, and love transform me.


(and then another song began to play on my “special” channel. Bridging our past to our future: from Cokesbury Gospel Hymns to Michael J. Smith contemporary hymns of praise)


God’s love, His mercy and His grace,

Combine to raise a fallen race;

His hand is ready, ere we call,

Held out with forgiveness for all.

Chorus:

It was Love that took my place

On the cross of Calvary;

it was grace, redeeming grace,

That paid my ransom full and free.

Over sin, without, within,

I have the victory,

Thro’ grace, marvelous grace, that lives in me.


Be Blessed as you sing along! Pastor Liz


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 52124 God Know Us By Name

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 21, 2024 Psalm 50:7-15 7 “Listen, my people, and I will speak. I will testify against you, Israel: I am God, your God. 8 I bring no cha

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page