top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 022423 In His Presence


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 24, 2023


Read Hebrews 12:1-3


1 So then, with endurance, let’s also run the race that is laid out in front of us since we have such a great cloud of witnesses surrounding us. Let’s throw off any extra baggage, get rid of the sin that trips us up, 2 and fix our eyes on Jesus, faith’s pioneer, and perfecter. He endured the cross, ignoring the shame, for the sake of the joy that was laid out in front of him, and sat down at the right side of God’s throne. 3 Think about the one who endured such opposition from sinners so that you won’t be discouraged and you won’t give up.

Good Morning, Rejoice in the Lord Always!


A few years ago, a group of friends and I decided to participate in a half-marathon race. You notice I didn’t say that I was running or racing, but that I was participating. I had no delusions of running for 13.1 miles because I had never been a runner. I was an avid walker and loved being outside. The person who suggested that we do this gave us a training plan to prepare for the event. It is important to say that we were going to walk for the majority of the course.


I embraced the training schedule and gradually increased from my typical 2-mile daily walk to longer walks. The schedule was set so that one day a week you would do your long walk. I remember when we first began to do 5 miles. It wasn’t the walking as much as it was the time commitment. Some days the weather was not great, and other days I woke up and my motivation to get up and go was gone. But I pushed forward and faithfully hit my training marks.


Over the next few weeks, that number went up by one mile each week. Finally, I reached the ten-mile mark. What a milestone! Within this training regime, there was much time to think and meditate as I walked around the beautiful town of Smithfield, VA. I don’t remember when it happened, but one day I realized I loved this part of my day. No matter what the weather was, even when it was hot or rainy, I had this special time to spend with God.


I began to apply this attitude toward spending time with God. Each day I have protected time to worship and meditate with God as I read Scripture and open myself to God’s message. In my class last night, we discussed that when we read the word, we participate in the Word which became flesh through Jesus Christ. There is no one right way to commune with Christ. You must find your way and commit yourself to it. We will experience bumps along the way, but with Christ, you have your emergency preparedness kit with you at all times.


Gracious God, Thank You for being with us. You bless us. Only by your grace do we enter into a relationship with You. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Time spent with God is always well spent.


Be Present with God! Pastor Liz


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 52124 God Know Us By Name

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 21, 2024 Psalm 50:7-15 7 “Listen, my people, and I will speak. I will testify against you, Israel: I am God, your God. 8 I bring no cha

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page