top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 022223 The Gift


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 22, 2023


Read John 10:11-18


11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 When the hired hand sees the wolf coming, he leaves the sheep and runs away. That’s because he isn’t the shepherd; the sheep aren’t really his. So the wolf attacks the sheep and scatters them. 13 He’s only a hired hand and the sheep don’t matter to him. 14 “I am the good shepherd. I know my own sheep and they know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father. I give up my life for the sheep. 16 I have other sheep that don’t belong to this sheep pen. I must lead them too. They will listen to my voice and there will be one flock, with one shepherd. 17 “This is why the Father loves me: I give up my life so that I can take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I give it up because I want to. I have the right to give it up, and I have the right to take it up again. I received this commandment from my Father.”

Good Morning, The Good Shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.


I am considering this idea of give and take this morning. Imagine if you come home and find that a chair has been taken from your porch. You would likely have many questions. You ponder as to who would take such a thing. Why would someone take a single chair? Who would take a chair? What is this person going to do with the chair? Did someone borrow it with the intent to return it? Those are questions pertaining to the chair.


Now, the chair is a basic chair and is of little value, so you don’t report it stolen. Days later, you are walking your dog in the neighborhood and see the chair sitting on a neighbor's porch. You return home and think about how you should approach the neighbor. You finally decide to pay a visit to the neighbor and ask about the chair.


When confronted about the chair, the neighbor admits to taking your chair. He shares that he has always lived in an apartment in the city and has never had a porch. He says that he saw you sitting contently on your porch each day, and he felt the need to try this. Because of the move, he had no money left to spend on outdoor furniture. He came to borrow the chair, but you weren’t home. The urge to take it overcame him when he stood looking at it.

He admits that he has yet to sit in the chair because he felt so guilty for taking it. As you listen to his story, you offer him the chair. You say, “please keep the chair; it is my gift to you. I hope that you find great enjoyment sitting in it. May you be blessed with the peace I enjoy when I sit and watch nature change around me.”


Jesus chose to give his life so that all who call him Lord and Savior could be saved and have eternal life. No one took his life; he gave it freely. We have a choice to make. We can accept Christ and have eternal life or walk away and choose death. Jesus blesses us through his gift. The gift of life includes love, peace, joy, and hope that comes through Christ. There is no greater love than one who gives his life so that all may live.


Jesus told his disciples, “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” (John 14:27.)


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. You bless us. We must make the choice to accept the blessings. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: God’s love is forever.


Peace be with you! Pastor Liz


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page