top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 021823 No Secrets


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 18, 2023


Read Psalm 139:1-6


1 LORD, you have examined me. You know me. 2 You know when I sit down and when I stand up. Even from far away, you comprehend my plans. 3 You study my traveling and resting. You are thoroughly familiar with all my ways. 4 There isn’t a word on my tongue, LORD, that you don’t already know completely. 5 You surround me—front and back. You put your hand on me. 6 That kind of knowledge is too much for me; it’s so high above me that I can’t fathom it.

Good Morning, To be known is a great comfort!


“Where everybody knows your name . . .” Most of us long for a feeling of comfort. Have you ever been asked to attend some type of event to represent someone or something? I don’t like the idea of mingling in a crowd when I don’t know anyone, but if I end up in such a setting, I think I look for someone who seems to share something, anything in common with me. Lowell used to tell me that teachers seem to gravitate toward each other.


In those awkward moments of mingling, my heart lights up when I see someone I know. Being in a crowd of many strangers becomes less challenging when you have one person to whom to cling. If your friend knows one other person, then you become a trio of minglers. Your growth pattern begins.


Another distinction of this knowing others scenario is the depth of knowledge between you and another person. Are there times when you want or need someone who knows everything you ever did? Are there other times when you would rather be less known? Perhaps if you are trying to impress someone, you try to hide the less pristine moments of your life.


However, in the big picture, there is no greater comfort in spending time with someone who knows your darkest secrets and still wants to spend time with you. You laugh and cry together as you recall memories and stories. You are comforted to know that when you make a mistake, even a big one, you can go to this person and be loved.


This is a perfect understanding of the relationship that God wishes to have with each of his children. By design, God knows everything we have ever done and what we will do. Despite our mistakes, God is waiting to forgive us. Think of someone who gives a great hug! That is how I imagine God to be! Remember when all we wanted during the pandemic was a hug from a friend? God is waiting to give you that hug!


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. Despite our faults and failures, you love us. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: God loves me completely.


Are you ready for a hug? Pastor Liz


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page