top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 021323 Brush of Angel's Wings


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 13, 2023


Read 2 Corinthians 3:1-7


3 May the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ be blessed! He is the compassionate Father and God of all comfort. 4 He’s the one who comforts us in all our trouble so that we can comfort other people who are in every kind of trouble. We offer the same comfort that we ourselves received from God. 5 That is because we receive so much comfort through Christ in the same way that we share so many of Christ’s sufferings. 6 So if we have trouble, it is to bring you comfort and salvation. If we are comforted, it is to bring you comfort from the experience of endurance while you go through the same sufferings that we also suffer. 7 Our hope for you is certain because we know that as you are partners in suffering, so also you are partners in comfort.


Good Morning, God comforts us in our time of need.


4 He’s the one who comforts us in all our trouble so that we can comfort other people who are in every kind of trouble.

When we are called to visit the sick, we sometimes have a sense of dread because we don’t know what to say. I was blessed during Lowell’s ministry to sometimes accompany him to visit church members who were in the hospital. Most every visit ended with me feeling blessed. The one we went to give words of comfort provided us with comfort as well.

As a new pastor, I had apprehension as to what I would say or do when called to share time with someone who was close to death. I had my own memories to confront and worried that I would be overcome with my own grief. Of course, that call came and I prepared to go, but first I prayed to God. O God, I have answered your call and I am your servant. Help Me!

When I entered the room, I was immediately filled with love and compassion. As I approached the bed, I knew that God was in this place and would lead me. The time we shared together was sacred. For each word of comfort I shared, I received comfort in return.

Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place. I can feel His mighty power and His grace. I can hear the brush of angel’s wings. I see glory on each face. Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place.

Jesus became flesh so that he might live among us. He suffers with us in our times of need. He chose his own painful death so that we might have eternal life. Jesus is the way, the truth, and the light. Through him, we will stand strong even in our weakest moments.

Loving God, Thank You for being with us. When we struggle, you are always by our side providing us comfort. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Because God comforts me, I can comfort others.


Go as you are called! Pastor Liz


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Morning Devotional 051524 God Said, “It is Good!”

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 15, 2024 Isaiah 30:18-26 18 Nonetheless, the LORD is waiting to be merciful to you, and will rise up to show you compassion. The LORD i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page