top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 020923 Finding Truth in the Light!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 9, 2023


Read John 8:12-19


12 Jesus spoke to the people again, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me won’t walk in darkness but will have the light of life.” 13 Then the Pharisees said to him, “Because you are testifying about yourself, your testimony isn’t valid.” 14 Jesus replied, “Even if I testify about myself, my testimony is true, since I know where I came from and where I’m going. You don’t know where I come from or where I’m going. 15 You judge according to human standards, but I judge no one. 16 Even if I do judge, my judgment is truthful, because I’m not alone. My judgments come from me and from the Father who sent me. 17 In your Law it is written that the witness of two people is true. 18 I am one witness concerning myself, and the Father who sent me is the other.” 19 They asked him, “Where is your Father?” Jesus answered, “You don’t know me and you don’t know my Father. If you knew me, you would also know my Father.”

Good Morning, Jesus said, “I am the light of the world.”


One of my church members told me that my devotions put a song in her heart. That makes so much sense to me because each morning as I share my time with God, my heart is filled with songs. Music is a beautiful way to communicate with one another. Sometimes there are words, but those most special times for me are when the rise and fall of the melody, the dancing of the rhythm, and the colors of the harmony are all-encompassing. I have a plaque with the quote, “when words fail, music begins”.


I am intrigued by the idea that the Jewish Law states that the witness of two people is true. Within our own legal system, we still have this premise when a suspect is asked for someone to verify or corroborate their alibi or story. This leads me to questions. What is truth? How do we know? What if the witness lies?


Later in John we read, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6 There are seven “I am” statements of Jesus recorded in the Book of John. The “I am” statements found in the Gospel of John are the bread of life (6:35), the light of the world (8:12), the door (10:7), the good shepherd (10:11, 14), the resurrection and the life (11:25), the way the truth and the life (14:6) and the true vine (15:1). Each of these metaphors confounded the Pharisees, but they provide the key to our own understanding of Christ. We must accept them with faith that allows us to see past the words and into the melody, rhythm, and harmony of life in Christ.


To follow Jesus means to believe in and trust him, which leads to light and life. We who follow Jesus are like travelers who follow the light on a dark night. You shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.


Jesus said, “I am the light of the world!” “I am the way, the truth, and the life.” We are called to choose: life and blessings or death and curses. (a preview of Sunday’s message)


Jesus said, “If you knew me, you would also know my Father.”


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. May we remain focused on the light of Christ. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: The light of Christ is stronger than the darkness of humanity.


Look to the light! Pastor Liz


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page