top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 020323 Trust and Obey


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 3, 2023


Read Psalm 23:1-6


1 The LORD is my shepherd. I lack nothing. 2 He lets me rest in grassy meadows; he leads me to restful waters; 3 he keeps me alive. He guides me in proper paths for the sake of his good name. 4 Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no danger because you are with me. Your rod and your staff protect me. 5 You set a table for me right in front of my enemies. You bathe my head in oil; my cup is so full it spills over! 6 Yes, goodness and faithful love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the LORD’s house as long as I live.

23 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Good Morning, Words of comfort are such a blessing!


There are certain passages for which the language of the KJV brings an extra source of comfort as I am transported back to another time and space. Many of us have heard or read this passage at a funeral or celebration of life service. Many of us can recite these words from memory.


Powerful words! Words that remind us that God is with us always. During our daily walks of faith, we will encounter unexpected twists and turns coupled with uncertainty. Even when we are walking across an open field where everything is in clear sight, there are divots, rocks, and holes that might be unnoticeable until we trip, stumble, or even fall.


God doesn’t promise us an easy life without challenges. David expresses his trust and confidence in God in Psalm 23. Despite David’s blessings and being anointed by God, David faced many obstacles in his time as the leader of God’s people. David, like us, was human and a sinner. David did great, remarkable things, and David committed great sins. I appreciate the passion of David’s belief in the one, true God.


God promises to be with us and protect us from all dangers, seen and unseen. We must simply call out and ask. All who humble themselves and proclaim Christ as Lord and Savior will be welcomed to the community of believers. Trust and Obey for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey. Through the darkness and through the storms, God will lead us.


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. We are sinners! We make mistakes! When we fall on our knees and give ourselves to you, You welcome us. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: No matter how rocky the path, I can find comfort by holding on to God.


Trust and Obey! Pastor Liz


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page