top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 020223 Focus on the Light


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 2, 2023


Read Job 9:1-10

1 Job responded: 2 I know for certain that this is so; and how can anyone be innocent before God? 3 If one wants to contend with him, he won’t answer one in a thousand. 4 He is wise and powerful; who can resist him and prosper? 5 Who removes mountains, and they are unaware; who overthrows them in anger? 6 Who shakes the earth from its place, and its pillars shudder? 7 Who commands the sun, and it does not rise, even seals up the stars; 8 stretched out the heavens alone and trod on the waves of the Sea; 9 made the Bear and Orion, Pleiades and the southern constellations; 10 does great and unsearchable things, wonders beyond number?

Good Morning, Praise God from whom all blessings flow!


Job is responding to his friend, Bildad, who has told Job that he is suffering because of some hidden sin. The first part of Job’s response is our passage for this morning. Job is trying to talk through this process by first agreeing that nothing in our life is hidden from God and then discussing the wonders and marvels of God. Just as Job wrestled with his understanding of what was happening in his life, we wrestle as well.


Job and his friends are believers in what is sometimes called retribution theology: Good is rewarded. Evil is punished. Remember when the disciples asked Jesus in John 9: His disciples asked him, "Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?" "Neither this man nor his parents sinned," said Jesus, "but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life. As long as it is day, we must do the work of him who sent me. The night is coming, when no one can work. 5 While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”


I would like to focus on verse 10 does great and unsearchable things, wonders beyond number. Job has listed many things, but uses these words to cover anything that he might have missed. We are not ready to know everything, but God reveals his glory to us as we are ready. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.


I found these words written by Debra Aiken that help me tie these ideas together.

God is infinite while we are finite. God is eternal while we are temporary. The message of God's kingdom, the “GOSPEL” is much different than the message of the world. God's message is one of “Salvation” through faith in Christ Jesus while the world's message is one of “self”.


Good and Evil are at play among us we participate in the dance of life. We revel in the good things that we see and we cry when confronted by the work of evil. Job had doubts and he is listing what he knows to try to find his footing. It is easy to question and have doubts when we are in those times of difficulty that seem to be the work of evil.


Each of us encounters times of trial and struggle in our lives. I rely on scripture when I can’t make sense of what is going on with me and around me.


"For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." Jeremiah 29:11


Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6


God is with us always. God sent Jesus, the light of the world so that we might not lose our way. Even when we wander into the shadows of darkness, the light is shining for those who seek Christ.


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. Help us never lose sight of the light! Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: The light of Jesus is brighter than any light of my own.


Focus on the light of Jesus! Pastor Liz


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page