top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 020123 Enveloped in Love


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

February 1, 2023


Read Hosea 6:1-3

1 “Come, let’s return to the LORD; for it is he who has injured us and will heal us; he has struck us down, but he will bind us up. 2 After two days he will revive us; on the third day he will raise us up, so that we may live before him. 3 Let’s know, let’s press on to know the LORD; whose appearing is as certain as the dawn; who will come to us like the showers, like the spring rains that give drink to the earth.”

Good Morning, The Lord is with us!

The prophet Hosea shares his vision with the unrepentant Israelites who continue in their evil ways. This rebuke begins in Chapter 5 and continues through Chapter 6. Do you notice the prophetic language describing Christ’s death and resurrection in verse 2?

Can you remember a time in your life when you did something wrong and tried to hide it from your parents? We can become overwhelmed by the situation whenever we try to hide wrongdoings. I remember when I finally gathered the courage to go and tell my parents that they already knew what I had done. They were waiting for me to come and admit my wrongdoing so that they could release me from my guilt. The part I remember most is the rush of love that enveloped me when I told them.

God, our Creator, is our parent. God is patient and God is waiting for us to acknowledge our sinful ways. Until we repent our forgiveness is incomplete. God loves us as we are, but he waits patiently for us to come and ask for forgiveness. No matter how far we stray from the path of righteousness, God is waiting to welcome us home. Great time of day!

What is the Good News for us this morning? God continues to be with us and love us even when we turn away.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,

Look full in His wonderful face,

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,

In the light of His glory and grace.


Loving God, Thank You for being with us. Help us never lose sight of the light! Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: Even when my life does not go as I had hoped, God’s promises remain true.


Repent and feel God’s love! Pastor Liz


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page