top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 013023 Set Free


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 30, 2023


Read John 8:25-32

25 “Who are you?” they asked.

“Just what I have been telling you from the beginning,” Jesus replied. 26 “I have much to say in judgment of you. But he who sent me is trustworthy, and what I have heard from him I tell the world.”

27 They did not understand that he was telling them about his Father. 28 So Jesus said, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he and that I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me. 29 The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him.” 30 Even as he spoke, many believed in him.

31 To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Good Morning, To God, be the Glory!

This morning’s passage in the Upper Room was but a single verse. Because I try to examine the context around verses of scripture, I chose to include verses that precede the selected verse. There are times when people work to bend and manipulate single verses to validate their own agenda.

In John 8, the Pharisees and Jewish leaders are once again questioning Jesus. There are many who question the authenticity of Jesus’ words. For the umpteenth time, Jesus is being asked “Who are you?” Just like that pesky preacher who sometimes steps on the toes of the church members, Jesus is ruffling the feathers of his questioners.

I see Jesus calmly addressing their questions as the panel of questioners becomes increasingly uncomfortable. As the chapter continues, Jesus questions the lineage of those who refuse to believe. I can imagine their haughty demeanor as they gasped inwardly about the nerve of this supposed Son of God. They did not want to see the truth Jesus proclaimed because it would invalidate their power and their authority.

31 To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Jesus invites us to follow Him to the Father as we walk our journey of faith. In Isaiah 41:10, God says “fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Jesus, our Savior, proclaims the Words of God so that all who believe will be set free.

Loving God, Thank You for being with us. Awaken us to the truth so that we might live in You. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: God’s truth can free me from fear.


Amen! Pastor Liz


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page