top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 012824 Set the Tone


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

   January 28, 2024


Psalm 46:1-3

1 God is our refuge and strength, a help always near in times of great trouble. 2 That’s why we won’t be afraid when the world falls apart, when the mountains crumble into the center of the sea, 3 when its waters roar and rage, when the mountains shake because of its surging waves. Selah


Good Morning! Find comfort in the presence of the Lord!


Most of us fall victim to anxiety from time to time. It often starts as one small worry, but every little thing jumps on board when we are in that mindset. It seems that worry attracts more worry like a magnet. The worries simmer and grow, and then we feel overwhelmed and filled with doubts. The “what-ifs” kick in, and we begin to imagine every scenario where every possible thing goes wrong. 


During my life, I have learned that I am more prone to worry and anxiety when I’m very busy or overextended. There was a time when my solution was to forget/forgo my morning routines and power through until everything was accomplished. “I don’t have time to walk/pray/meditate (or whatever you do to set the day's tone) this morning. I’ll do it tomorrow. 


Well, tomorrow had a whole new set of tasks, so I set aside my walk once more. Before I knew it, I had joined the rat race of constant worry and lack of direction. Sadly, this can go on for days, weeks, years, and even a lifetime. At the end of the day, what do you have? 


One day, when I was too tired to go on, I took time to walk and talk to God. I shared my fears and worries and looked intently at the flowers along my walk. When I got home, I was full of a newfound energy to start my day. Then the lightbulb went off: I needed my time with God each morning to set the tone for my day. In fact, the busier the day's schedule, the more important my God time was.


Surely, it is God who saves me; I will trust in him and not be afraid.2. For the Lord is my stronghold and my sure defense, and he will be my Savior. Isaiah 12:2


Verse 10 of Psalm 46 has been my verse of comfort when I need to slow down and share with God for many yearsHe says, “Be still, and know that I am God;  I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We forget to spend time with you, and we struggle. Help us set a time each day to release our worries to you. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Choose to begin each day by placing your trust in God.


Be still, and Know! Pastor Liz


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page