top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 012724 Be Brave, Seek the Light!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

   January 27, 2024


Deuteronomy 31:3-8

3 But the LORD your God, he’s the one who will cross over before you! He’s the one who will destroy these nations before you so you can displace them. Joshua too will cross over before you just like the LORD indicated. 4 The LORD will do to these enemies the same thing he did to the Amorite kings Sihon and Og, and to their land, when he destroyed them. 5 The LORD will lay them out before you, and you will do to them exactly what the command I’ve given you dictates. 6 Be strong! Be fearless! Don’t be afraid and don’t be scared by your enemies, because the LORD your God is the one who marches with you. He won’t let you down, and he won’t abandon you. 7 Then Moses called Joshua and, with all Israel watching, said to him: “Be strong and fearless because you are the one who will lead this people to the land the LORD swore to their ancestors to give to them; you are the one who will divide up the land for them. 8 But the LORD is the one who is marching before you! He is the one who will be with you! He won’t let you down. He won’t abandon you. So don’t be afraid or scared!”


Good Morning! God promises to be with us always!


And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. John 14:3


I remember when my children were young, I would always walk into the room in front of them. Whether we were coming home from a short trip or going into a new place, I would take them by the hand and lead them in. This was not because they were incapable of taking the lead, but I wanted to make sure that everything was okay. 


Other times when I wanted to take them someplace new, I would go a few days in advance to reconnoiter the place to make sure it was a good place to go. I would check out the parking, the list of activities, the menu items, the restroom locations, and the overall cleanliness. I would also look for the pitfalls and the places to avoid. Then, when we went as a family, I could take the lead and show them all the great features. Even when I couldn’t physically visit, I would study the website and pictures to plan our best outings. 


The Lord, our God, leads us to our destination through Christ and the Holy Spirit. When we feel insecure, God guides us through the murky waters. God prepares a place for us and waits for us to arrive. I remember some commercial for years past for a motel chain, “Come stay with us, we’ll leave the light on.” Christ leaves to light on 24/7 for us to find our way home. So don’t be afraid or scared.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. You lead us and prepare a place for us. You prepare a table for us. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: When things seem dark, the light of Christ still shines.


There is always light if you are brave enough to seek it! Pastor Liz


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page