top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 012524 Listen! God is Speaking!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 25, 2024


Psalm 95:1-7

1 Come, let’s sing out loud to the LORD! Let’s raise a joyful shout to the rock of our salvation! 2 Let’s come before him with thanks! Let’s shout songs of joy to him! 3 The LORD is a great God, the great king over all other gods. 4 The earth’s depths are in his hands; the mountain heights belong to him; 5 the sea, which he made, is his along with the dry ground, which his own hands formed. 6 Come, let’s worship and bow down! Let’s kneel before the LORD, our maker! 7 He is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, the sheep in his hands. If only you would listen to his voice right now!

Good Morning! Come, let’s sing out loud to the Lord!


What better way to start a rainy day than with a rousing Psalm of praise? David seemed to wear his emotions on his sleeve. When he was happy, everyone knew it! Likewise, he openly shared his struggles, and we experience his grief through the Psalms of lament that he shared.


Often, our emotions align with the weather and the seasons. Rainy days make us sad or lethargic. Sunny days make us happy! I view winter as a time of reflection, as much of nature rests around us.


In winter, I can see more clearly, both physically and spiritually. When the trees drop their leaves, I can see things hidden for much of the year, like the rock faces in the mountains and birds sitting on the branches in the distance.


My time of spiritual reflection in winter is especially bountiful when I give myself the grace to stay indoors when the temperatures dip and the precipitation falls. It is a special time when I snuggle up with a blanket and spend precious time with God. During these moments, I allow the glow of the candle to provide a portal to a time of listening and praying. On this rainy day, I challenge you to carve out some time to spend with God and listen!

6 Come, let’s worship and bow down! Let’s kneel before the LORD, our maker! 7 He is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, the sheep in his hands. If only you would listen to his voice right now!

Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. The soft glow of candlelight reminds us of your presence. Thank you for making time to be with us! We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: God is speaking! Are we ready to listen?


God loves us and wants to be with us! Pastor Liz


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page