top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 012324 Joy Awaits


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 23, 2024

Psalm 30:1-12

1 I exalt you, LORD, because you pulled me up; you didn’t let my enemies celebrate over me. 2 LORD, my God, I cried out to you for help, and you healed me. 3 LORD, you brought me up from the grave, brought me back to life from among those going down to the pit. 4 You who are faithful to the LORD, sing praises to him; give thanks to his holy name! 5 His anger lasts for only a second, but his favor lasts a lifetime. Weeping may stay all night, but by morning, joy! 6 When I was comfortable, I said, “I will never stumble.” 7 Because it pleased you, LORD, you made me a strong mountain. But then you hid your presence. I was terrified. 8 I cried out to you, LORD. I begged my Lord for mercy: 9 “What is to be gained by my spilled blood, by my going down into the pit? Does dust thank you? Does it proclaim your faithfulness? 10 LORD, listen and have mercy on me! LORD, be my helper!” 11 You changed my mourning into dancing. You took off my funeral clothes and dressed me up in joy 12 so that my whole being might sing praises to you and never stop. LORD, my God, I will give thanks to you forever.

Good Morning! Love the Lord with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength!


This morning, I smiled when I read the final two verses of this passage. 11 You changed my mourning into dancing. You took off my funeral clothes and dressed me up in joy 12 so that my whole being might sing praises to you and never stop. LORD, my God, I will give thanks to you forever.


I remember a few times I chose to wallow in my misery for a bit. I wanted a pity party; I wanted everybody to take pity on my situation. I’m guessing that you have had a similar experience. I will say these were more prevalent during my youth, but what about a time when your work goes unnoticed, or you are passed over for a promotion?


We might be unhappy or even sad, but, Oh my, there are those standing among us with much greater problems. At least we are healthy, have a job, have a place to live, and have food to eat. The list is as endless as our blessings. If we focus on what we have instead of listing what we want or need to have, we will not have time for that pity party.


Even in our lowest moments, we have our God, who is gracious, merciful, and loving. God promises to take care of us always and provide everything we need. On this morning of rejoicing, praise God with your whole being so that the world will see to whom you belong.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We praise your holy name! When we fall, you lift us up. We thank you! In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Turning your life over to Christ turns our struggles into triumphs.


Let joy fill you today! Pastor Liz


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Morning Devotional 051624

I’m learning how to work the Internet Morning Devotional 051624 2 Kings 20:1-5 Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, “This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have hea

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page