top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 012124 Go Where You Are Called


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 21, 2024

Judges 6:33-38

33 Some time later, all the Midianites, Amalekites, and other easterners joined together, came over, and set up camp in the Jezreel Valley. 34 Then the LORD’s spirit came over Gideon, and he sounded the horn and summoned the Abiezrites to follow him. 35 He sent messengers into all of Manasseh, and they were also summoned to follow him. Then he sent messengers into Asher, Zebulun, and Naphtali too, and they marched up to meet them. 36 But then Gideon said to God, “To see if you really intend to rescue Israel through me as you have declared, 37 I’m now putting a wool fleece on the threshing floor. If there is dew only on the fleece but all the ground is dry, then I’ll know that you are going to rescue Israel through me, as you have declared.” 38 And that is what happened. When he got up early the next morning and squeezed the fleece, he wrung out enough dew from the fleece to fill a bowl with water. 39 Then Gideon said to God, “Don’t be angry with me, but let me speak just one more time. Please let me make just one more test with the fleece: now let only the fleece be dry and let dew be on all the ground.” 40 And God did so that night. Only the fleece was dry, but there was dew on all the ground.

Good Morning! Give praise to God, who reigns above!


As United Methodist pastors, we are asked to pick up and move when directed. I believe that the church leaders who facilitate the appointment process are led by God, even when I’m unhappy with the proposed move.

Each time we approached the season of appointments and moving, we were filled with some anxiety. For me, it is always the uncertainty of the process. Are we moving? Are we staying? Where might we be moving? Can I find a teaching job? How will get everything ready to move? PACK becomes one of those most vile four-letter words in a pastor’s family.


By the grace of God, each move brought us so many blessings. We met new people in new churches. We found connections to others that we would never have imagined. And our belongings always managed to find their way to our new home.


It has taken time and experience to see God’s hand in each of our moves. Through God’s mysterious ways, we are led to places we could never have imagined by ourselves. Thanks be to God! Open your hearts and minds and embrace God’s calling to you today. You will be blessed.

Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We become scared when asked to go somewhere new. Thank you for leading us so we don’t get lost. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Listen! God knows what is best for us.


Listen and Embrace! Pastor Liz


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page