top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 012024 A Glimmer of Hope is Waiting


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 20, 2024

Matthew 11:28-30

28 “Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. 29 Put on my yoke, and learn from me. I’m gentle and humble. And you will find rest for yourselves. 30 My yoke is easy to bear, and my burden is light.”


Good Morning! Lay your burdens at the foot of the cross!


I struggle with letting go of my burdens. As heavy as they are, there is a sense of comfort in the well-known struggles. I have read that people who are living in an awful situation choose to stay there, even when they are offered respite because at least they know what the next day will bring. If they allow themselves hope, they are making themselves vulnerable to a system that has failed them in the past.


Maybe I worry that if I let go of my current burdens, I will be susceptible to new ones that I’m unprepared to handle. Allowing ourselves to be vulnerable is hard! We like to believe that we are in control of things, so we don’t want to give control to someone else, even God.


Instead of focusing on the burden, what if we focused on the peace and rest Christ promises? Most of us long for that peace, that glimmer of hope. I am challenging myself and you to let go of one burden and allow yourself the grace to let peace fill that void. A small step forward is better than remaining stagnant or moving backward.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. Give us courage; give us wisdom. Take from us the burdens we offer. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: I find comfort and reassurance when I offer my burdens to God.


Letting Go allows a space for peace! Pastor Liz


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page