top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 011924 It's a New Day! Seek Joy!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 19, 2024

John 15:1-8

1 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vineyard keeper. 2 He removes any of my branches that don’t produce fruit, and he trims any branch that produces fruit so that it will produce even more fruit. 3 You are already trimmed because of the word I have spoken to you. 4 Remain in me, and I will remain in you. A branch can’t produce fruit by itself, but must remain in the vine. Likewise, you can’t produce fruit unless you remain in me. 5 I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, then you will produce much fruit. Without me, you can’t do anything. 6 If you don’t remain in me, you will be like a branch that is thrown out and dries up. Those branches are gathered up, thrown into a fire, and burned. 7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you. 8 My Father is glorified when you produce much fruit and in this way prove that you are my disciples.

Good Morning! The fresh snow reminds us that God gives us new life each day!


I love to peer out at the new fallen snow before it has been disturbed by foot/paw prints or vehicles. It reminds me of an untouched canvas that is brimming with possibilities, and it is clean and pure. The snow resembles our life in Christ, where each day we start with a fresh canvas upon which to make our mark.

Somedays, we only make small tracks like a bird looking for food. On other days, we erase all evidence of the snow as we wallow all over it. Each day allows us to spend time with God and enjoy the gift of life that God has given us as we play in the snow. It is up to us how we use our day, but we never know if this is just another day of many to come or if it will be our last on this earth.


We are called to live and do all to the glory of God. What will today’s canvas hold for us? “I [Jesus] came so that they [we] could have life — indeed, so that they could have life to the fullest.” Paul tells us that living life to the fullest means becoming more Christlike (we imitate what Christ taught us). We begin to imitate Christ in our thoughts, actions, words, and opinions of others. We realize that we don’t need more “things” in our lives; instead, we make do with what we have so that we have more to share with others. Prayer and the study of scripture become our top priority.


Today’s canvas is ready for a new day of living!


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. Each day, we have a fresh, new start. Help us model ourselves after Christ. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Listen, God will lead you to new service opportunities.


Add joy to your canvas today! Pastor Liz


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page